Why I Love Being A Thalassophile

PubDomain

Well there you have it. I love spending time as close to the sea as I can. Why? Well there is just something so peaceful, energizing and healing about it. When I look back on my life I remember spending so much time at the beach. To this day when I feel overwhelmed, gloomy or reflective I make sure I either drive past or walk along the beach.

For me to sit and smell the saltiness of the air and feel the slightly damp air on my skin rejuvenates me, and allows my busy mind to be still. It takes me back to when I was younger and to a time when life was much simpler and carefree. It’s so peaceful and for me I can truly hear myself in a way that is difficult to do when we have so much going on around us. You know what I mean. We think but we don’t think deeply or passionately about the important things. Sitting and watching the waves roll in and out makes my problems feel less daunting and more manageable.

"Why do we like the sea?
It is because it has some potent power
to make us think things we like to think" – Robert Henri

I think about how many other people have stood or sat exactly where I am sitting now and felt the same way. How many of them thought the same thoughts or dreamed the same dreams? I look out over the horizon and think to myself about how, on the other side, there is a whole new world with people who might be looking out and thinking the exact same thing that I am thinking now. I watch the people either with each other, alone or with their dogs and I wonder what type of life they have. What interesting things would they have to share?

I look out at the waves and notice all the different shades of blue and green. I notice how they seem to mix together and yet manage to stay separate. I watch how people’s footsteps get washed away with every wave that crashes and moves up against the sand and I think to myself "How beautiful is that." Nothing is permanent. Almost anything can be wiped clean for another go at it. I hear the seagulls above me and think back to how elated and excited sailors must have been hearing that sound as they knew it meant land must be close by.

"The ocean stirs the heart,
inspires the imagination and
brings eternal joy to the soul." – Robert Wyland

Then I leave, move forward and get on my life. As I reflect I realize that the time I spent there made me feel as if there is nothing I can’t accomplish. It makes me thankful that I can still find the time to get lost in my thoughts and reminds me that no matter what I can always go back to the sea for inspiration or comfort. So next time you feel you need to get lost in yourself, head down to the beach.

Thank you for reading and remember to keep smiling.

APP.png
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

I love how you appreciate the beauty of "placing yourself" in the "shoes" of another... ;)

Thank you @jaynie. I do this a lot. We can learn a lot about each other if we just stop focusing on ourselves all the time.

Too true!!!

Kindred spirit indeed @jusipassetti, the sea does that to me as well! So even though we live close to the sea my holiday of choice remains the sea, hearing the waves crash at night is just the best medicine :):) We are so blessed to have this wonderful calming place to go to. Nice to see @therneau walking with a fishing rod, remember him fishing as a little boy :)

Thank you, same here. We also always end up going on holiday by the sea. Could never survive without it. Took that pic of @therneau on our last holiday in Durban.

That was quite a long time ago! Beautifully written post @jusipassetti :)

Wonderful, I consider myself a Thalassophile, but I live so far from the sea, having grown up in Cape Town, SA. Most of my life we only lived a few minutes from the beach. I now live in the middle of Illinois, USA. I feel like a piece of my soul is missing.

Thank you and nice to meet another person from Cape Town here on Steemit, even though you're not this side anymore. I'm sure that must be difficult. It would take me forever to adjust.

I know what you are talking about.

I look out at the waves and notice all the different shades of blue and green. I notice how they seem to mix together and yet manage to stay separate. I watch how people’s footsteps get washed away with every wave that crashes and moves up against the sand and I think to myself "How beautiful is that."

I am absolutely with you on this. I love spending time at the beach... for hours! Thank you for this wonderful write-up of yours! :)

Thank you very much. I'm glad you enjoyed it and enjoy your next beach day 😀

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with #steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

The ocean does have a special energy. After spending most of my life landbound, far away from the ocean, my husband and our kids moved aboard a sailboat a couple of years ago. That time traveling on the ocean was a fantastic adventure and SUCH a completely and utterly different... VIBE than anywhere else I've been. I can see how living near the ocean would just be amazing for anyone.

We're currently land bound again, but making future plans to hopefully live near the sea again, because you're right, it is such an inspiring and regenerating place to be!

Great post!

Thank you. That sounds like an awesome adventure. Hope you find yourself close to the sea soon.

Thanks for sharing and bringing back old memories. I experienced the same as you on the seaside. In my youth I spent probably my most pleasant hours and days there. Now I am kind of trapped some far away from that marvelous wet element. I should go back one day.

Yes you definetly should. Thank you for reading and glad it brought back happy memories for you.

loved reading this! Sums up many of my own feelings about the ocean. thank you for sharing

Thank you and I'm glad you enjoyed reading it.

This was such a refreshing post. Reading it made me feel as if I was near the sea. I loved being close to the river too. During my childhood, my family and I used to go to a hill station Besham in the northern area of Pakistan and River Indus flowed by it. We loved being at the riverside and had some memorable moments there. However, my brother, cousin and I were also once going to get drowned in it so a bad memory is also attached to it.

Thank you for reading and for the compliment. So sorry to hear about your experience, glad it turned out good in the end. That's the thing about water, it is beautiful and dangerous at the same time.

Oh absolutely. Very dangerous and even lethal at times but it also depends on how you use it. We knew the tides were high and shouldn't have been near the riverside at that time so we were to blame.

And i absolutely fell in love with this one. I wish i lived close to sea but now I'm far away and i long to feel all of this again

Ah so glad that you enjoyed it. Hopefully you will be able to visit the sea soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68305.20
ETH 2710.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72