TomorrowsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

To many reading this tomorrow will be just another day. Tomorrow for me, marks the one year anniversary of my father's death. I go to sleep tonight with a wet pillow because it feels like I have just existed this past year in shock. My heart breaks when I realize that It has been a year since I have held his hand. I thought I wouldn't be able to live without him, and I fear I haven't lived, just merely existed.
I see the withdrawal surfacing in my mother as she steels herself for another dose of pain. "One year of firsts is the hardest." This was the advice we were given by well meaning friends. At least I can say they meant well.
My life has changed since my hero died. I made new substitute heroes but none can fill those big wide shoes. No one has been able to advise me quite as well, or annoy me quite as bad.
I feel like grief counselling may have been a façade that I used to hide my actual feelings. I thought I was grieving but is it possible that I wasn't? This pain is more than I have felt in a long time.
Maybe the loops of time will start over each year like the movie groundhog day. Beginning with pain in mid august.

Tonight I allow myself to feel because tomorrow I will have an audience.

)

Sort:  

howdy this evening hezziebees, I'm so sorry to hear about your dad. People say that time heals all wounds and I'm not sure I believe it but we do get better at handling the loss and God is so good that He gives us things and people to live for because He wants us to keep moving forward and loving others and when we do that He blesses us more than we can ask for. God bless you!

Sorry about the loss of your Dad. With time and accepting that he is gone and you have to move on, you will get better. Wherever he is, he will be glad to see that you are happy.

Congratulations @hezziebees! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72