L: Lonely But Inspiring Child

in #steemitbloggers7 years ago (edited)

alex-ivashenko-223199.jpg

Photo by Alex Ivashenko on Unsplash

Loneliness kills.

It kills the joy and gratitude in our hearts. It shatters the dreams and visions in our souls. It overrules the thoughts and judgment in our minds. I am sure that each of us has seen someone that is experiencing loneliness. In fact, sometimes we do feel lonely. As inevitable as it feels and sounds to us, prolonged loneliness leads to deep sadness or depression.

There are tonnes of websites, videos, inspirational talks, helplines and small life groups that can assist us adults in dealing with loneliness. I, for one, have experienced it before but thanks to my supportive family and friends, and God's faithfulness, I now know how to deal with it. It is just part of being human, ain't it?

My faith was put to test when I first welcomed Gillian (not a real name) into my class four years ago. She showed uncommon responses and reactions towards her friends. She could not maintain any eye-contact for more than 10 seconds. She hated any group work activities and started showing temper tantrums. She enjoyed sitting at one corner in the class eating her snacks rather than socializing with her friends at the school's cafeteria. To be honest, I was really terrified. Really, really, terrified. I wondered if I can handle a seemingly unique student, like her. At the end of the school day, I was then approached by her mom and she gently discussed with me about her unique character.

...Gillian has a learning concern. Asperger's syndrome.

I was lost for words, but I assuredly told her mom, on that first day of school for Gillian, that I can help Gillian to improve, and I am ready to partner with her in the coming months. I remembered driving back home, and cried so hard in the car because I was so upset at myself for making a daring promise without even knowing anything about the learning concern - giving hope for the family about their child's learning development that might not just be achievable, or so I thought.

It took me hours of researching on the Internet and reading books about it just so that I was a little more prepared for the entire academic year with her. For months, I tried, and I failed. I was not even sure if Gillian really liked me as her teacher. Gillian's friends were feeling quite uncomfortable in the beginning, leaving Gillian all lonely at school. No one wanted to play with her. I felt really uneasy for those months to the point that I felt that I was the one experiencing loneliness. But, one thing for sure, I didn't want to spend my entire academic year feeling that way. There must be something that I can do, no matter how tiny it was.

Fast forward to the recent years. I was with her all along, throughout her journey in the school. I was with her for a total of four years (two years as a classroom teacher). After many rounds of reminders, routines, temper tantrums, naggings and all sorts of emotional roller-coasters, she has never stopped talking about me at home. Can you believe it?! Although she is still struggling to make friends, her friends and teachers are now more compassionate and understanding towards her.

IMG_7301.JPG

Those days, she will be rewarded with some laptop time whenever she completes her work with her best efforts. She loves the 'clicking' sound.

IMG_7298.JPG

She made a model of the Petronas Twin Towers on her own with little supervision from me. She bragged about it the whole day. Meh.

12357125_10207069511551428_2209367274088271362_o.jpg

I have always told her that I am from the rainbow and I have some special rainbow powers. She baked this rainbow cookie for my birthday.

IMG_7300.JPG

Gillian has some exceptional art skills, and her sole ambition is to be an animator some day. She also enjoys baking and has baked cupcakes for small events.

14724638_10209662046723187_409663436992852358_n.jpg

A doodling book as a Christmas gift for her.

Gillian is such a precious child. I remember her more than any of the students that I have taught. She was my teacher for those four years. Truly worthwhile experiences and memories. Because of her, I am changed.

Thank you for reading my post! Just another snippet into my life as a teacher. :)

UV-C-R cally end of post.gif


APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

What a great story to share! Congratulations.

Thanks for sharing this post with the #tkc community! You're doing a great job, keep up the good work! Congrats on winning!

Congrats on winning! Thanks for sharing your amazing post with us!

Thank youuuuu! :)

Thank you @khaleelkazi for picking mine. So blessed! Look forward to writing more :)

Hmmm, this is a touching story, you are a rear teacher and your student are lucky to have you. Great memories

Thank you, it is definitely one of the many personal life stories I have throughout my teaching life. :)

You're definitely a very kind and sweet person! I am more than thank you to have you to be contributing to the society and I am definitely proud of you!! Keep it up :D

Thank you for your generous compliments! :)

I know it is not easy to deal with Aspergers' because I handled one before. But then just when thought the person has to improve, we realise we are the one need to improve and expand. I know for sure your heart just got bigger after you have this inspiring friend Gillian. 😍

Definitely, for sure. Very impacting one.

Such heartwarming post ❤ I pray all teachers will have the same heart as you, to love every kids in school with all their heart. You're such a gem! 💎

Thank you for your generous compliment, @michelleloh168. :)

Wao, your publication has brought me some tears; I am somewhat sensitive with the topics that are mixed with the fibers of the human being, with their fears, pains and, especially, their frustrations. This story seems incredible to me. I want to tell you that you are an excellent human being, and as a teacher I think you are one of the people who will help change the world little by little.

Thanks for sharing your post with #TKC team, keep working like this and generating the great content that is hidden in the stories of the people.

Thank you for dropping by here! Truly honoured by your encouraging words. There are just so many things that I would love to share about my teaching life and I am so glad to be part of the TKC community whereby I get to share my content with other bloggers here on Steemit. :) Thanks again!

Thanks to you for sharing, we hope to learn more about that life full of incredible stories. Congratulations for being selected by #TKC team. Keep sharing good content with us.

Thank you for sharing your story. It is so amazing that you were able to help a student with Asperger.
You probably have become someone very important to her besides her family. I hope for all the best to you and Gillian.

Keep on posting.

Thank you for dropping by :)

Beautiful and touching post. She is also never the same because you stopped for her. Great job, teacher Cally! <3

Yeah, both of us were never the same again. Thank you for reading my post here! :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @heartscally to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40