Ulog 40: Creating My Own Dried Thyme

in #steemitbloggers5 years ago (edited)

Finding recipes that are Keto friendly has become a new fascination with me. I scour the internet, looking for recipes, looking in my pantry for ingredients and all the while am smiling at this new lifestyle change we have chosen to take here on the homestead.

I had found a few recipes that called for thyme, whether fresh or dried, and wouldn't 'ya know it, I don't have thyme in my spice cupboard... or have I ever grown it so I have no dried thyme either.

When I made the inevitable trip to the grocery store the other day, I was prepared to buy some. I was hoping to buy fresh from the produce section as well as dried in the baking and spice aisle.

I grabbed a pre-packaged container of thyme and when I went down the baking and spice aisle I was speechless. The cheapest container of dried thyme that was on the shelf was over $6. The organic one was almost $10. Not wanting to pay that much, I replaced the jars and headed back to the produce department. I would just buy another package of the fresh and dehydrate it for my use.

The package in the produce department was $1.59 for .5-ounces and I knew without even calculating it in my head that the fresh would be cheaper. Plus I'm always a little leery of those store-bought, commercial spices. I mean, how do I know for sure what's in them? And since I've never really had thyme before, I was unsure of how I would like it. If I didn't care for it then I was out a minimum of six-dollars plus I would have an herb/spice in my cupboard that I wouldn't use. Too wasteful for me.

On The Other End Of The Spectrum



What if I did like it? Then I would have to buy more next year... right?

No... no, I won't. I whipped out my root cloning bottle, reserved one of the fresh thyme leaves and got out some coco-coir soil.

I set to making my own thyme plant that I can keep in the winter/indoor garden grow tent.



It's ironic that just a few weeks ago I was binge-watching some gardening and homesteading YouTube videos and one of my favorite YT personalities had a video about how she took a sprig and leaf from an organic store bought package and started growing her own thyme too. I figured... why not? Lets give it a try here too.



So just as I make clones (propagate) from my cannabis plants, this is the same step process I used for the thyme leaf. I made sure the soil was moist and after the transplant was complete I placed it in my grow tent for adequate light, but not too close as I don't want the fresh herb to burn or die.

I'll keep you updated as the little herb grows- fingers crossed

Plus now I have some fresh thyme as well the dehydrated portion to use for my new Keto recipes and meals.

Also posted on whaleshares

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.788 which ranks you at #1384 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 7 places in the last three days (old rank 1377).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #27.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Great idea @goldendawne! There are so many varieties of thyme. I have found that it will re-seed itself once you plant it in your garden. :)

Please keep us updated on the thyme sprig planting! Fascinating!

That's wonderful! I will have to get myself some of that cloning stuff!! Did you have to use a woody stem or a soft green one?

I actually used both. I have one from a brown stem and one from a leaf further up the branch. I figured if they take hold and grow, I will be planting outside in my herb garden in the spring. My mom loves thyme so I know she'll be using some of it.

Oh please do let me know....I am curious as I'm just learning lol

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Howdy goldendawne! How innovative and creative you are! And, I didn't know that you guy's were going Keto. My wife and I have been doing that for almost a year now, it's wonderful but hard to find a variety of meals if you don't eat pork products.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83