Ulog 37: Weekly Menu Planning Has Begun

Menu Planning Begins

Lately I've been addicted to YouTube videos, reading online blog articles about menu planning; whether to be more organized, prepared or for money saving reasons. And this past week I decided to act on my desire to implement menu planning into my homesteading schedule. I figured with winter here now and not being able to be out in my gardens and greenhouses was the perfect time to start this new task.

I had more time to devote to doing this and hopefully working out the kinks as I go, so when spring and summer are back I'll have it all figured out and it'll be an easy addition to my lifestyle.

I mainly wanted to start menu planning; as I said for the three reasons above and next I'll explain why.

border.png

Why I Want To Menu Plan

  • Be more organized - I have always been a person who needs a list in her daily life for structure and to keep on task, so I'm not exactly sure as to why I waited this long in life to begin this venture of menu planning. I have lists, sticky notes and charts all over the homestead so this one fits right in to my scheme of things.
  • Be prepared - this can fall under an umbrella statement of the above mentioned reason, but I feel it needs its own category on the list. By being prepared and planning ahead I can always have dinner ready to go; even when I am not feeling well and we still have to eat. See when I make dinner, I always make enough for five or six servings. Even though there are only two of us in this home, I plan to have the leftovers for the following day's lunches; the one I pack for Mr Golden D and myself. Plus it never hurts to have a little more available in case we are extra hungry for dinner that night.
  • Money saving - we are still on our quest to save as much as we can for the large down payment (or hopefully pay in cash) for our forever property. We have set a goal of 5-10 years from 2017; so we have 3-8 years left to save every last stinking penny. By menu planning I can plan ahead, have all the items needed for a recipe in the pantry or freezer and not have to make extra trips to the store. Cause we ALL know those extra trips for on or two items turns into three overloaded bags of groceries we buy on a whim. I will be making most of the weekly menu plans from what I have on hand; avoiding those last second trips. If I don't have a certain ingredient needed for a recipe, then I'll either substitute or improvise, perhaps even figuring out a completely different meal.

So tonight is Tuesday, and from the written out menu plan picture above, it's spaghetti night. I have my homemade marinara sauce and crushed tomatoes I canned earlier this year ready, as well as some organic veggie pasta (made from tomatoes) and the venison Italian sausage is in the oven cooking as I write. Nothing extra had to be purchased to make this meal. I had everything on hand and ready to go.

border.png

Last night was smoked kielbasa, sliced onions, yellow potatoes and sauerkraut cooked to perfection in the crockpot.

I already have two-pounds of venison burger in the refrigerator thawing out for tomorrow's venison meatballs.

The pulled pork for Thursday is extra from a previous dinner I made two weeks ago and froze. I'll be thawing that out tomorrow.

The ring bologna was a special purchase I made at Aldi's two weeks ago and I'll be frying that up with some green onions and peppers and making some pasta salad up as a side dish.

And finally, Friday, the ribs are from the cow we had butchered in September. I had two more small packages of short ribs to use up and this will be a good day for a crock pot dinner as we're expecting rain changing over to snow and a wintry mix that day.

The only item I had to purchase this week for dinner was the Brioche buns for the pulled pork dinner on Thursday. They were cheap enough as I got them from the grocery store's reduced bakery rack. I'm not worried about them becoming hard as I always toast the buns on the griddle for such a savory (and juicy) meal like pulled pork; helps to sop up the excess moisture and seasoning.



I've already started planning next week's menu planning schedule too. I will get a break two days as it's the holiday and we're going to my brother's new house one day and a cousin's place the other day. I know we'll be bringing home some ham and leftovers; so that takes care of Wednesday's meals too. Plus I've added some ham, potato and beans stew/soup for Friday. _I love that kind of stoup! So hearty and filling!

border.png

Also posted on Weku

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

Even though I didn't see the final dish, but it all sound so delicious @goldendawne!

Congratulations @goldendawne! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 60000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Sounds great, used to really enjoy planning meals new jobs sees me away from home a lot so i dont get to participate in the planing so much anymore. Hopefully thatll change in the future 🙂 thanks for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.790 which ranks you at #1380 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1382).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 224 contributions, your post is ranked at #138.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

YouTube learning is great. That's how I've been learning about gardening and fungi this year.

Nice image and it sounds delicious.

Namaste, JaiChai

Yay!!! I have been menu planning since I left home, one of the things my mother taught me. She has nine kids and it was essential to do this. I only have three, but, can honestly say, it is the best thi9ng I have done!

Merry Christmas!

!tip

🎁 Hi @goldendawne! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: A Little Bit Of Christmas Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

That's a cool idea, the good thing is that you started it before the year ends(I usually start things in the new year haha) Anyway, Thanks for sharing this with us and may you have a great day!

Menu planning is a great idea when you cook different things every day. I often cook for a few days because I don't have time for everything...Well, my husband and daughter agree that eating this food for a few days)

Your description of the dinner is very delicious)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81