@marblely Saturday contest - Favourite pastimes

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

If you would also like to enter I am cutting it ultra fine this week you and I have three hours left.

My favourite pastime will come as no surprise. It is origami!

I've liked origami since I was about 14. I started folding because I was driving myself up the wall. I was sick with the flu - body aches, runny nose, headache and sore throat. I couldn't sleep any more, I couldn't eat, I couldn't focus long enough to read, I didn’t want to watch any more day time tv. If teenage misery needed a picture I was a perfect candidate.

We had one origami book which was black and white, second or third hand and mainly had diagrams of people and animals. It had a few simple diagrams and then it got, to me at the time at least, insanely complex. It also made you flip to the front to learn how to fold the base (i.e frog or bird or square base) and then flip through and find your model.

I didn't have printer paper or origami paper, but I did have lined notebook paper and a Cadbury chocolate paper sleeve in its distinctive deep blue.

I folded the piano and a nun and failed at a butterfly and then I folded the traditional box I have recently diagramed and fell in love. I folded it again out of the Cadbury paper and the word was perfectly centred and to my poor flu addled brain it was like magic.

I have been folding on and off ever since and still manage to find magic in the folds.

I hope through my tutorials you are also able to find something that speaks to you and makes you a little happier.

TeamAustralia Slim Banner

SB_new.png

Sort:  

I have no exposure to origami @gmatthe except to see it on tv or in pics every now and then. Great to hear of the joy it can bring. Thank you.

#steemitbloggers

Thank you @reonlouw these days my joy comes more from creating and exploring new designs and learning the skills needed to share them rather than as a pure distraction, but we all grow into the things we love and this is how my love of folding started.

@reonlouw,

Hey mate.

Quill

@gmatthe2,

You are the first "origamist" with whom I've had the pleasure of communicating. And I thought it was going to be a slow day! :-)

I can't even fold a paper plane ... or at least not one that flies.

Quill

Paper planes are hard. The best origami paper plane I've heard of is actually a circular tube which also then has to be thrown with a skilled hand. Let me know if you need a hand folding anything.

Hehe I was thinking if you were to join this contest, you would write about origami :) Thank you so much for your entry despite your hectic schedule. And thank you for sharing how you started with origami :) I can't remember how I started but I do remember flipping an origami book and just started folding a model following the steps.

I've had plenty of colds and flus since then, but that is my first memory of that particular horrible combination of boredom and needing a distraction from the all body discomfort. It kind of cemented in the memory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65676.04
ETH 2615.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65