Jaynie and the Downvote Dragon (Steemitbloggers Contest)

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)


dragon.png

Once upon a time in a faraway land, there lived a woman named Jaynie. She was the mayor of a small town called Teemitogger. The town was at the edge of a vast forest of trees, and most everyone in the town worked as a logger. Some would go out each day and take pictures of the trees, others would chop down the trees, and others still would make all sorts of interesting and beautiful things out of the trees. Over the years, word of the wonderful creations from this little village spread far and wide, and Jaynie was very proud of her loggers.

But all was not well in the town of Teemitogger. A terrible dragon was menacing the villagers, swooping by each day and snatching wonderful creations right out of the hands of the loggers. With morale dropping fast, Jaynie decided that something must be done. She called a town meeting to discuss the situation.

Her chief of police Raymond was the first to speak after Jaynie called the meeting to order.

“I propose that all able-bodied men and women of the town of Teemitogger band together into a squad and go attack the dragon! We will call it Squad Band Teemitogger!”

“What about Steemitbloggers, for short?” suggested newcomer to the village Janton.

“Excellent idea!” Raymond spoke.

“I have been working on a different plan,” the inventor Zord remarked. “I have been working on a new and powerful creation. It is a giant insect farm. I could make several of these, and the swarming scenery that appeared would confuse the dragon and maybe it would leave us alone!”

“Giant insect farms? I like it! Let’s call them GIFs for short,” the town’s resident novelist Byn suggested.

“Let’s be practical,” interjected the town’s judge Traci. “We’re trying to kill a dragon here, not rescue a princess from a castle. I like the posse suggestion that Raymond spoke of. GIFs seems like too much of a gimmick to me.”

“What if we outsource this quest to an outsider,” suggested the farmer Golden Dawn. “Maybe we could find some kind of monster that would fight the dragon in exchange for payment.”

“Monsters generally don’t accept payments for their services,” Zord replied.

“A cookiemonster does,” muttered Byn under her breath.

“What was that?” asked Jaynie. “Nevermind, let’s hear some more ideas, people!”

“Ooo ooo. I have an idea!” exclaimed Zen Art, the town’s spiritual counselor. “What if we go to the land of the Admins and ask them for a powerful weapon to slay the dragon? They have all kinds of magickey stuff over there!”

A hush fell over the room. To go to the land of the Admins was a long and dangerous journey, and there was no guarantee they would even receive an audience. A brave voice cut the silence a few moments later.

“I will go to Admin City,” came the resolute statement. Everyone turned to see who had volunteered for the quest. It was the man known only by his origin – the man from Denmark.

“Are you certain this is what you want, Denmark guy?” asked Jaynie.

“Yes. But I would prefer not to go alone,” answered the slightly accented sage.

“I have been your loyal follower since I moved here just a few short weeks ago,” piped Dollars A. Sense. “It would be an honor to join you on your quest.”

“Very well, but beware. You may not have enough power yet. Someone may need to delegate to you.”

“I will lend him some of my power,” offered Mila Oz, the richest merchant in town.

“I would like to go as well,” echoed Bengy, “if only to keep you company with my music along the way.”

More hands started to raise across the room. Soon it was clear that there was no shortage of help for this task.

“Thank you all,” replied Jaynie. “I will pick out some of the very best tools and armor that this town has made and will send you on your way with them” she said to the adventuring party.

The next day, the adventurers gathered at the village square. They said their goodbyes and set out for Admin City.

The first day passed without incident. They had reached the edge of a clearing along the side of the road. “Let’s stay here for the night,” Roger, the most well-traveled of the bunch, called out to the group.

While the party was sleeping, a goblin crept into the camp. It slowly wormed its way towards the fire where all the supplies were secured. It started to steal some of the treasures the group had brought on the quest in order to bring them back to his lair. Just then, a tiny creature radiating a soft glow appeared out of one of the bags. It was a fairy! “Help!” the fairy squealed.

Fiona was the first to bolt awake. “Favortia!” she called to the fairy, who happened to be her loyal traveling companion who never left her side.

The commotion startled the goblin, who quickly scampered away. The rest of the night was uneventful, and the group awoke the next morning to continue their journey.

However, the goblin had gone and told the dragon what had happened. The dragon was quick to deduce the goal of the group of traveling villagers. It decided to ambush the group before they could make it to Admin City. It flew over the forest ahead of the party and laid in wait on the other side of a hill. When the group of adventurers crested the top, they were staring into the face of the evil dragon.

“Curse you, dragon!” thundered the man from Denmark. “Although I swore to be a pacifist, my friends will slay you in this very spot if you do not stop stealing from us!”

“Allow me,” said the sorceress Traci, raising her wand towards the dragon. “This dragon is foolish. So far from its lair, its magic won’t protect it from our combined power.” She uttered a spell and then there was a giant cloud of smoke.

When the dust settled, the group could see only a short, pathetic looking creature hunched in the dirt. It looked around pleadingly with a very confused expression on its face.

“So now the world sees you as you truly are,” Raymond spoke. “A simple troll.”

The party cheered and hugged each other. They made the trip back to Teemitblogger that same day and were in the town hall celebrating together before midnight.

“How did you manage to defeat the dragon without the help of the great Admins?” asked Jaynie.

“It was easy,” offered someone from the team. “There is immense power when a group of people with similar interests gets together to work toward the same goals.”

“Oh, right,” chuckled Jaynie. “I think I read that somewhere once.”


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Yes! A fellow fan! Hahah, I was wondering how many people would recognize it, especially with the international audience here.

Thatched roof cottages!!!!!

Brilliant! Absolutely brilliant! not only were you clever in using the words given, you used the entire community and some of the members. I love it! Good job :D

Thanks @foxyspirit! I wanted to include more but I didn’t want to end up with a novella, haha. Plus I am still getting to know most of you so I wanted to be at least somewhat representative in my characters.

I think you did great. There are so many people there, I think it would be really hard to include everyone. In a way you did though, through making it in a town that we are all in :)

howdy there @dollarsandsense! lol! this is a classic story that will live on in Steemit lore, I hope. I loved the way you worked so many of us into your tale, this was so funny and delightful. Brilliant job!

Thank you, sir! I wanted to weave a few more in but as you know, I struggle with brevity 😅

I had to include my longest Steemit buddy Jon though!

I know you struggle with brevity...haha, that's a polite way of saying something but not sure what! anyway but in this specific case I don't think any rules apply! that's how unique this is. you must be very creative thinking as well as writing my friend! I hope you can find time to do more posts because every one of them is very unique and I think once more people see your posts you will grow quickly.
you should do this again sometime but it would be so funny to have one of the talented artists on here do caricatures of the different players.lol!

Hah, great idea! I like the collaboration concept.

Thank you for the kind words my friend and for being such a loyal follower of my content and commented on my posts. It really does mean a lot. One of my biggest complaints about my job is that the only feedback I ever get is negative, and no one ever stops to say “you’re doing well.” I’ve made it through 3 rounds of layoffs so I know I’m at least somewhat competent at my job! It would be nice to hear it.

So great to be on a platform with so much positivity and encouragement. You have honesty been one of the parts of what keeps me here and active, especially early on, so thank you for that my friend.

you are so welcome @dollarsandsense..you are very unique in your style of writing and you deserve any kind words, you've earned them because this isn't easy especially when you don't know what to write about.

but I think you can write about anything that comes to mind or strikes yourself as being interesting because by the time you get into it and add your humor to it..it turns out great! lol.

in your real world job though..you really never hear any "great job" or any type of encouragement or gratefulness for what you guys do?
that surprises me, I thought firefighters and all first responders were held in pretty high regard.

Oh I don’t do that full time, I just do that as a volunteer for about 30 hours a month. My full time job is far less interesting or respected, hah!

what?? I thought you were an EMT fulltime. what is your fulltime job then?

Nope. Customer service at a software company.

Ha, nice story! Nice to be in a support role!

Never go on a road trip without some good tunes!

Well written story with an actual context. That’s how I like it. Thanks for creating this one!

Thank you! It’s tough when you have to include certain words, but who doesn’t like a challenge?

Agreed, our whole life is full of challenges. Those here on Steemit are the funny kind of them. 😉

Well done, D&S!

John Bunyan of 2018!

Good play on the community right here :D excellent stuff.

Thanks! I tried to pull in a bunch of people, glad you liked it :)

That was really good! I enjoyed seeing all the Steemit Bloggers incorporated into the story. You had me laughing a bunch!

Awesome, glad to hear! Happy I could entertain while competing for some SBI :)

This is a superb fairytale, everything makes sense!! Love reading it, @dollarsandsense and congratulations for the win! Totally deserve it! :)

#steemitbloggers

Haha, thanks! It’s hard to make GIFs and cookiemonster fit into a fantasy world 😂

This is a wonderful story! I like your drawing of a dragon, too! Awesome way to make us #steemitbloggers proud! 😊

Thank you! That is Trogdor; he is not my own creation though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82