You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Knowledge is Power (5) - What is Ethics?

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

The perception of beauty is really subjective. And so, the essential characteristics of beauty predicates on the common ground. With keeping in mind that, we, humans, are not absolute which means, we are subject to change and so our opinion.

Really enjoyed reading this, thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

I agree. The perception of beauty is subjective, but the criteria of judging beauty must be objective. I’m thinking about a piece of art. There must be some rules in place, some criteria, to determine the degree of beauty. Also there must be a level of intelligence involved to be able to judge beauty. Just my two cents 😊

I generally agree with you, Ma'am. Although, I want to highlight my point regarding " the criteria of judging beauty must be objective" which I believe it is still subjective, and that's what I meant when I said "the essential characteristics of beauty predicates on the common ground." in other words, the criteria of judging beauty in itself is subjective but might be in a collective way, like in modeling industry, for instance, they follow specific criteria yet it does not necessarily represent everyone. Therefore, I personally believe that beauty is absolutely subjective and cannot be contained and/or categorized by a certain group.

Please don't mind my argument, I truly appreciate a valuable conversation that I can learn something from it :)

Hey, I like a good argument, that’s an interesting discussion and can go on and on. That’s why philosophy is so interesting to me. I generally agree with you, I was thinking about rules (criteria) to be followed in judging beauty. Your example with modeling is good. 😊

See, at last, we're on the same page, generally :) i love philosophy! I believe I've read one other post of your knowledge series and noticed other posts on philosophy, which ill be reading sometimes soon when i clear my head out from some bugs :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63