365 Days of Gratitude: Day 20 - Music Streaming

in #steemitblog5 years ago (edited)

Does anyone remember having to go to a store and physically buy CDs? Or tapes? Or records? Depending on how old you are, it could have been anything but my point is that you had to get your ass out of your house and go somewhere to buy music. I specially remember waiting outside of a Future Shop back in 2001 to wait for the doors to open so that I could rush in and buy blink-182's 'Take Off Your Pants and Jacket' on CD. Not only was I excited for the album, but I was excited to see which VERSION of it I got since they had released three different flavours, each of which would feature its own hidden bonus track. It was dope, and I was pumped to have it. The problem, of course, was that I was 16 years old, didn't have a car, and had to wait for my dad or brother to drive me to a place that sold music. (I grew up in a small town with no record stores of any kind)

Here in 2019, the idea of having to even put pants on to get new music is absurd, and there is no way in this universe I'm occupying that I could see myself rushing anywhere to buy an album anymore. All I have to do is open my Apple Music and search for whatever I want, downloading the targeted album in seconds rather than the hours it used to take back in the dial-up days. Now, I should admit that I have recently purchased some vinyl, but in no way did I rush out to get it — it's different, ya know? My point here is that having the ability to instantly download almost any music you want at any time of day is absolutely remarkable and if you had told me this would be a thing when I was trying and failing to get a job at HMV then I wouldn't have believed you, okay? Cool.

Shout out to streaming music. Thank you for encouraging my laziness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56