365 Days of Gratitude: Day 17 - Fucking Around With Your Parents

in #steemitblog5 years ago

Is there anything better in life than fucking with your parents? No. That's the answer. In my humble opinion, there are no more satisfying moments in life than offering your parents a moment that leafs them confused and scratching their heads. For some strange and unexplained reason, I had the random thought that I had never worn a turtleneck sweater in my life, and my friends couldn't believe, meaning that there had to be a time when I was young that I had sported the look. Their thought was that there's probably a picture of me in a turtleneck from when I was eight or nine years old — this was the mid-90s we're talking about here.

Now, before I continue I have to admit that I understand how moronic this conversation was and there's no real reason to be writing about it now, but my point here is what happened as a result of the stupid babble about turtlenecks. To confirm that I had never worn one, I sent a text message to my dad to see if he could shed some light on the subject. A few minutes later, my old man called me, wondering what the hell I was talking about and why I was asking about my history with turtleneck sweaters. To me, the fact that my dad took time out of his day to find out what the hell I was talking about was a moment of pure joy for me, not because the conversation was dumb but because my old man needed to know what was going on. That's about as pure as it gets, and a more macro level, only one of millions of variations of this same story, a privilege of having parents that can take a joke. In fact, there's nothing better in the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56