365 Days of Gratitude: Day 10 - Netflix

in #steemitblog5 years ago

I'll admit, I got way drunker than I thought I would last night, and it made for a painful morning today. Thankfully, I didn't have anything important to do today and it was nice to be able to nurse my hangover and get my life back together. And because my mind and body felt fragile because of my own doing, I wasn't going to be much use to anyone so all I could really do was lay on the couch and watch movies, and that's where Netflix came in.

Founded in 1997, Netflix was originally a place to rent physical movies that would come to you through the mail, and you could return them whenever you were finished. Do you remember the ads? I remember thinking that the idea was cool but who would want to rent a movie and then have to wait for a few days for the thing to show up? But then, streaming happened and the game changed forever. Here, in the final weeks of 2019, there are literally thousands of options to watch at any moment.

Right now, I'm watching a three-part docuseries on Bill Gates, my hangover as basically faded, and could not be happier for this glorious time waster and hangover mainstay. Thanks, Netflix!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56