White Belt BJJ Curriculum - Week 5 - Knee on Belly

in #steemitbjj6 years ago

white-belt curriculum1.jpg

Welcome to the Gym/Academy mat sharks. To new students, you may want to hit up my older BJJ White Belt curriculum lessons where we started with Self Defense, and are carefully covering all the basics.

This week, we continue with some specific technique related to the Knee on Belly position. For sport Jiu Jitsu, it is great control in a dominant position and 2 points. In self defense, also a dominant position where you can choose to go to mount, talk yourself out of a fight from a strong place, or even get up and run away.

Personal key take-aways:

  • You don't HAVE to crush with that knee but I remember my first days as a fresh blue belt and being told by a superior belt, "You are a blue belt now you can't tap to this shit!" ;)
  • I like to focus on keeping weight balanced so that I can move around, and I don't illicit a pain-based reaction which is tougher to contain.
  • Those mobility drills are really neat looking when you have new folks checking out the training and are a great workout.

Any questions? What's your funniest Knee on Belly story or go-to technique to execute while you are there?

OSS!

jj4l-logo2_1_orig.png

Sort:  

Knee on belly... I still have to learn not to eat spinach, beans, cabbage etc the day of training... you know what I mean...

I farted once! It happens! Lol. Great work on the classes. Keep it going!

Haha yes this is the punchline for many BJJ rolling jokes. Funny you mention it but that happened to me an hour ago in nogi wrestling class defending a take down and twisting my core to try and end up on top when we hit the mat.

He let go right away and we restarted so it is a legit technique. Mat frogs.

It is. Especially when it's super ripe and they try to keep going but can't because of the smell coming from that area. Eventually they pass out and start twitching.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70