White Belt BJJ Curriculum - Taking the Back

in #steemitbjj6 years ago

white-belt curriculum1.jpg

It is no-gi week at the club but the beginners classes still train in the gi so trim your fingernails and toenails anyhow!
I am slowly but surely filling out the white belt curriculum here on STEEMit so that generations can look back and train virtually the way we train today at the academy. So, grab some details to fill in your game, or come train and get adopted as w white belt because it really is not that extreme a thing!

Today, we get into taking the back from the mount, and finishing with the standard Rear Naked Choke (RNC) you very often see in MMA/UFC.

Personal perspective/take-aways:

  • I LOVE taking the back in rolls because I prefer a transition to a submission, and in competition because another couple points and a strong position is a good place to be.
  • That seat belt grip (one over the shoulder/one under) is ESSENTIAL to start out on the back correctly in my opinion.
  • To finish, I like to sneak the behind arm up behind their back, flex the muscles in the arm around the neck, engage my hips and pull them down by the waist, and exhale loudly in the final squeeze.
  • Don't be too nice when you are trying to strangle someone!

How often do you take it to the back? What's your go-to back submission?

jj4l-logo2_1_orig.png

Sort:  

From the back I like to use the one-wing strangle. 😊

Oh yes! I love that one too. I generally start to screw with that arm when they are defending the collar really well. Sometimes, when they are being really good with that arm so I can't get ht behind he head like that, I throw a leg over for an armbar too.

Good work brotha!

Thanks! Thinking of joining the beginners free for a month?

Couldn’t watch the video cos of poor network! Surely will do as day breaks “! Weldone bro!

It is a full 20 minutes worth of a BJJ class so get your gi on!

Love my African support!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62779.83
ETH 3443.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50