White Belt BJJ Curriculum - Single Leg Takedown

in #steemitbjj6 years ago

white-belt curriculum1.jpg

Greetings grapplers and mat monsters. This is the end of my ongoing series where I work to populate the block chain with Brazillian Jiu Jitsu know how and fighters. I will do some review and summary posts, move on to more advanced techniques, and take requests on what you would like to see.

No better way to wrap up the White Belt Curriculum than some good technique on taking it to the ground.

Basic Single Leg take down.

  • Great universal technique for self deference, Gi and Nogi fighting.
  • That pushing motion once you get the leg is so solid. I used to grab the leg and pull it to me which didn't work very well.
  • I see so many of the kids and white belts just bowing once you get the leg to complete the take down. Taking a couple steps backward while you bow is like night and day for success and conserving strength.
  • I wish I could find that wrestling video with the "horse-shoe" technique. I may have to do my own video on that as when the opponent is fighting and forcing you away, you can let them have the distance, grab the ankle, pull them to step on that foot, and sweep it out right before they can get the foot down.

jj4l-logo2_1_orig.png

So? What do you think of the White Belt Curriculum? Where should I go from here now that we have made it through? OSS!

Sort:  

You got a 35.82% upvote from @th3voter thanks to: @zekepickleman!



Image Source cloudinary.com


This post has upvoted from @th3voter !For more information, click here!

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to our bot, 100% of earnings paid out to delegators. To do so, click below:
30SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP, 10000SP,
Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.

Love the single leg, prefer to lift and slam when I can.

Yah man that is the MMA way. High crotch and slam.

The forward motion is great for that as well.

I mean, a takedown is a takedown, but if I can do some damage with it all the better. In this video I was a blue belt in the expert division and my coach is calling for me to sit my opponent down but I opted to lift and hurt my opponents arm and he was unable to defend my attacks after that. Now while I wish no opponent injury bumps and bruises are part of our thing and if I can capitalize on it I will.

True and true.

Thanks for the explanation. very good technique, now I will be more aware of your courses, as we say in Venezuela in steemit is a parallel world you can learn everything.

Block chain is what you make of it. One of the things I prefer to use it for is to help people become happy, healthy and deadly. :)

Not much of a twitter guy but I couldn't find this video anywhere else. (besides faceblech.)

https://twitter.com/TheMMABible/status/1004032824750542850

We weigh the same. I have several projects where I help many Venezuelans who need it including me. I have a daily trial type dynamics but in a personal way it is called the TOPFIVE and on Saturdays I reward them by selecting the best ones and although I do not have much SBD I give 0.002 to each selected one.

One of the things I prefer to use it to help people become happy, healthy and deadly. :)

Well that sounds awesome! I have an expiring delegation so my votes will help other people less but there are other ways. Support, positive content, conversations, culture building, resteeming are tools we should add to out STEEMit tool belts.

What a great example you set.

Great info!! Now, time to practice!! (^_^)

Agreed! Hit the mats and life has a way of working itself out.

This post has received a 1.31 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @zekepickleman.

This post has received a 6.44 % upvote from @boomerang.

Whaat why is this the end? Or are you just switching format to blue belt curriculum :D?

Yeah and single-leg. Dunno, it somehow doesn't work that good for me :/ Low single leg is whole another story though, I loove that one :) But it's probably not a self defense technique, while normal single leg is I guess.

Hah! A curriculum is a curriculum and covers a specific breadth of subject.

Can't go on forever!

Maybe we can film another series when we restart it again at the school. Maybe we will film blue belt techniques. Maybe we will have a greatest hits of Ryan's favourite techniques.

Tune in next time to see!

Good synopsis of a Run-the-Pipe! I think when you say "Horse Shoe" you're talking about the outside-elevated position, what I call "Rambo"?

As for opting to lift them as @embomb701 does, this is the first link of most chains, so I'd say it's vitally, vitally important to learn first. Similar to a jab in boxing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63645.37
ETH 3067.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81