White Belt BJJ Curriculum - Basic Half Guard Passing

in #steemitbjj6 years ago

white-belt curriculum1.jpg

This is my initiative to populate STEEMit with BJJ basics to be stored on this block-chain for all time. It is also a neat look into our academy, a sharing of knowledge and technique to all other schools fighters and trainers as well as hopefully a motivator for STEEMians to seek out a gym with a trial program and become a killer. Here is an intro for the new folks (You can see Zeke in the top left still in my Blue Belt!):

So I head to the club with my little girl so she can train, then I can have my couple hours of choking folks, and the gym is closed for the long weekend! So, I am back at the computer getting into another white belt class on STEEMit before I have to get into the hard labour in the yard.

Half Guard escape time!

Personal perspective and opinion:

  • Shoulder Pressure - is always a good thing but extra good in half guard when you want the opponent not to defend the lower leg stuff using their arms....when they have to frame to relieve the pressure.
  • Long Legs - I have a tougher time getting my long legs out using the first technique and alternate that technique with walking the trapped foot back towards the butt, post it and have my shin vertical and push their trapping legs off to free my knee.
  • Kimura - I also like to turn away from the face, use my core to make space, start screwing with their legs and bait to trap that defending arm in a Kimura. Changes their defense big time.

Does anyone else try and push through half guard by pressuring into an Arm Triangle to distract and free your leg or is that a Zeke©?

jj4l-logo2_1_orig.png

Sort:  

Thanks brother! My personal defense skills are getting stronger!

Good! The further you get into the White Belt curriculum, the further it progresses into sport jiujitsu and further it travels from self defense.

Most folks won't get you caught in half guard unless they train in which case they shouldn't be fighting outside the gym. Best just to hold on and let them tire themselves out.

You just received a 18.25% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @zekepickleman!
WaveSmall.gif

You got a 22.71% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @zekepickleman!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62779.83
ETH 3443.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50