Solo Drills for Grappling & Functional Mobility

in #steemitbjj7 years ago (edited)

My instructor, Eli Knight, doing his thing. Be sure to subscribe to his YouTube! Leave comments on his videos inviting him to Steemit!

Here are some functional mobility drills that are particularly useful for grappling movements based off of those common in bjj and wrestling. Minimal to no equipment is needed, making these drills easy to do almost anywhere, anytime.   No particular order is necessary and you can mix and match and combine these however best fits your needs. There are hundreds of helpful movements like this, but these are some of my favorites I felt like sharing. Let me know what you think.   
Like, subscribe and share! Also, check me out on IG @ knight_jiu_jitsu. 
Keep watching for more good stuff out of this channel and from Aperture (formerly Funker Martial Arts).

Sort:  

Those are some amazing moves :)

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

How you jui jitsu guys have any joints left to walk baffles me haha. My knee was wrecked when i was a kid, I'd have no hope doing half that, I can walk and run fine, but if I place any serious pressure on my knee or bang it in anyway, It swells up a bunch and hurts for days :(

That's an awful feeling! Ya know, sometimes yoga and jiu jitsu can actually help with those issues. You'd be surprised! I deal with sore knees, but not to the extent that you do. Being 39, I do have to stretch and work on my knees just to keep doing jits. There is some pressure though.

I have thought about it strongly man to be honest, I just dunno if I have the balls to risk it, I don't want any extra permanent damage.

I really think that it wouldn't be as bad as you think. The takedowns are what are rough on the knees. Most jits schools will even let you start the rolling on your knees or from seated position, or from any other position like mount, side control, guard. Most lower belts also don't go for, and in tournaments are no allowed to use certain knee bars, heel hooks, or other things that could cause damage to the knee.

Plus, really, you can easily just be really picky about who you train with. Most jits schools aren't necessarily competition schools, or mma schools, so it's a little more laxed than you'd think.

Anyways, just a thought. I see many men and women who are older, are not athletes, and many have body issues or are overweight. In some cases, the rolling and stretching and going through techniques can stretch and strengthen the weak parts of our bodies. There's a lot of soft work, and you don't HAVE to roll to an extent where every roll is a 100% fight. Good communication is key, cuz some are there to train to fight.

But definitely not judging you if you think it's not for you or risky. Only you can assess where you are at and what can meet your goals safely, so I definitely support that! Definitely have to be smart when it comes to taking care of your body, and knees are important lol!

They really are important haha, I have considered it for so long now man, especially being a huge fan of the sport side of it too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64