You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jiu Jitsu is Not the Answer to Everything - Eli Knight

in #steemitbjj7 years ago (edited)

Some of even the most fundamental techniques from both sport and self-defense canons can go out the window in many real-world situations. Full guard and Sankaku-jime are a terrible idea the second an attacker produces an edged weapon for example. Sadly we are likely to feel that edged weapon before seeing it, and even then it's probably going to feel more like a punch until we see that we are bleeding.
Juji Gatame is probably not going to stop a drunk or somebody on an adrenaline rush even if you dislocate the elbow.
I think the most important self-defense move in all of jiu-jitsu is the tech stand after breaking free of a scramble. If you end up on the ground in a life threatening situation "You fucked up a long time ago" as Kurt Osiander would say.

Sort:  

You are exactly right. Being on the bottom or on the ground period is such a risk. You never know when multiple attackers will become an issue, specially in a bar setting.

I really wanted to go to Eli's last seminar, but I was out of town. He had Sonny Puzikas at our academy for a 2 day seminar on edged weapons.

He's pretty interesting in the fact that he tellls people how it is: you are too comfortable and confident in your training. I really wish I could have been there. He's a no bs martial arts, edged weapons and firearms instructor.

Obviously you do not want to be involved with a knife in a fight. You are right, you probably won't feel it even until it's too late, better yet see it. Anytime a weapon is produced, the best option is to run or escape. But, you may not have the ability or option, so you better train to know something that involves guns and knives.

I def do not want to confuse training self defense for over confidence. Some of it could be discarded, just like sport. But I really do believe that if all you focus on is sport, you're definitely not being realistic in your training. And if all you train is jiu jitsu, you're in the same boat. I think that we really should work towards becoming well rounded martial artists.

Oh for sure. I didn't mean to sound argumentative. I think being as well rounded is important. Too many people neglect edged weapons, firearms and above all else situational awareness. I really enjoy what the Shivworks and Libre guys are doing. Knowing how to cut your way out of a clinch is a good thing:
https://www.instagram.com/p/BY01NC8nXpy/?taken-by=southnarc

Oh no, you didn't sound argumentative at all! :) I think that's one reason I like what Funker Martial Arts and Funker Tactical are doing. They don't really want to sell jiu jitsu, or any specific martial art, or any lineage as a false sense of security. They definitely push the platform of being well rounded, and realistic in your abilities, specially when a weapon is introduced.

I'll have to check out Shivworks and Libre. I really just started paying more attention to edged weapons. I've always been into guns, but I never was a knife person.

Eli actually just released his video for bladed weapons on the ground. Of course this is under the assumption that you do not want to be on the ground or even engaging with someone who has a knife, but what if one is introduced while already grappling on the ground.

http://funkermartialarts.com/shop/featured/eli-knight-bladed-grappler-digital-download/

As always, thanks for your input, and I don't take offense, or think you sounds argumentative. I love these conversations, and hearing everyone's point of view. I think sometimes, like anything else, martial arts can become an echo chamber, and believing your own hype can be very dangerous when we are talking self-defense and weapons!

I'll check out that instagram link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69