Musings from the BJJ Gi #26, lesson 28; clinch (conservative opponent) & take the back from the mount + R.N.C

in #steemitbjj6 years ago (edited)

Third time I've done this lesson now, and it's sinking in well. I don't feel that there are many new details to take note of with the clinches, I think it's more a matter of just repetitions; doing it enough times so that it becomes fast and reflexive.

I enjoy training the take the back from the mount sequence, as it's pretty fun! The indicator being that your opponent starts to turn to their side from underneath your mount, for the purposes of getting onto their knees. When they turn to their side, you switch to modified mount, by sliding your knee up behind their back, and bringing up your other leg, so that your foot is flat on the ground, your heel next to their abdomen. Then as they roll up to their knees, you put your hands on the ground to support your weight, and insert your hooks (feet), push your hips south, so that they're above their hips, and then attain the over-under grip (under grabs over) with your hands. You then roll to either the strong side ('over' arm on the bottom), or weak side ('under' arm on the bottom), and apply the rear naked choke. I find that I can apply the rear naked choke quite quickly and effectively with my right arm as the choking arm, but with my left arm as the choking arm, I find the lock up behind the head is more congested and awkward and slow to set up for some reason, I haven't quite worked out why yet, but it's always been the case. Probably just another case of 'more-reps-needed'!
RNC small.jpg
Cheers,

  • David
Sort:  

i love that move as well, we just practiced it again recently. You can also nicely move to bow-and-arrow from there, which is my favorite =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55910.18
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27