Musings from the BJJ Gi #24, lesson 25; double leg takedown (conservative opponent) & double underhook guard pass

in #steemitbjj6 years ago

shw_00242.jpg

Second time doing this lesson, and in the past, the double leg takedown has always been a movement/technique which I have never really done well or got the fluent hang of. I guess it's pretty dynamic, there's a lot to be mindful of, and accordingly many ways in which to do it wrong. The conservative opponent variation involves palm striking at your opponent on your way in. So it understandably takes a lot of practice/many repetitions to get the step in and strike, then protect your head/face and squat, then step in again between their feet and catch the back of their knees, as all of that is essentially just the set up for the takedown! haha. You then kneel on that front knee, the one stepped in between their legs and follow them down, not letting go of their legs, and your rear leg steps to the side, to help stabilise your position. Then, when it's safe/they're not bucking and writhing, you push their leg down to the ground on the side you are facing, and walk the leg you kneeled down on around so that you attain side mount. I need much more practice at all of these movements.

I did better at the double underhook guard pass this time, and I think it was because the training partner I was with this time was more closely matched to my body dimensions; weight and height. It's my own personal issue, but I become distractingly concerned about crushing my partner when we practice movements like this if I'm significantly heavier than them, and/or if they can't support my weight for whatever reason. I tend to support my own weight in this case, but doing so isn't a part of the technique, and so I end up using one of my hands to support myself and it affects the effectiveness of the technique in some ways, and I'm also practicing doing it wrong essentially. It can't be helped really, but I'd rather not cause an injury or significant discomfort to my training partner than just recklessly go ahead regardless. By the end of the lesson I managed to put the whole movement together in a fairly smooth running sequence, from starting in their closed guard, to opening it with a palm strike, double underhooks, reaching across to their shoulder and driving my weight forward so my face is above theirs, then clocking my legs around while dipping my hips and lifting my chest and head, to allow their legs to fall to the side as I come around and attain modified side mount.
Much work to be done, but enjoying the process.
Cheers,

  • David

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83