You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musings from the BJJ Gi #16, lesson 17; clinch (conservative opponent) & headlock escape (side mount)

in #steemitbjj6 years ago

Grappling Clinches usually do not favor the taller guy. if you ever get into Muay Thai the height will be handy there.
Some stuff will be handy for you tho like if you look up the "Power Twist GrecoRoman" that should wind up being a good takedown for you from the clinch as a tall fellow

of course you might not ever want to compete or anything I'm just throwing out ideas as I tend to do heh

Sort:  

Thanks heaps for the advice man! I'll definitely look that up, I appreciate all the help I can get haha. I think my competition days are behind me at this point. I entered two comps when I was in my early 20's, and the best I did was bronze in my weight division. I'm 37 now, and I know that's definitely not too old to compete, but at this point I'm just more interested in the self-defence side of BJJ rather than the sportive.

Booyah, I like it:

man I think that's the same video I first saw of it consider looking for one Dean Lister shows and Tito Ortiz as well. you can love or hate Ortiz but his instruction vids are pretty good and I always like to see at least 3 different vids of different people showing a technique becauase a lot of folk will add different takes on it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31