DJ Wednesdays #6: Who Did It Better, The Smiths Or Radiohead?

in #steemitbc7 years ago

The Smiths & Radiohead, two amazing bands from different era's. I know Morrissey can be a twat, but he and Marr wrote some amazing music. Marr was a genius. Listen to the guitar work. Then came Thom and the boys and rewrote music. So, who did it better? The Smith's original version of "The Headmaster's Ritual or Radiohead's take? I suspect fans of each will like their band's version better. I personally like them both a lot because I see them as equals in music, but I'm partial to The Smith's just because I'm from that era and their songs bring back so many great memories. What do you say?

First the original by The Smiths

Next the re-working by Radiohead

Sort:  

I can't exactly put my finger on why, but I like the radio head version better.

The Radiohead version is definitely more raw.

First of all, thanks for providing a soundtrack to my ride from work to work. It was appreciated.

I have mixed feelings about both these bands, so it was fun to compare them. I really didn't expect to like the Radiohead version very much because I thought it would be more of an interpretation of the original song than a straight cover, and I thought it would include more of Yorke's ephemeral singing, which I don't care for. I was very happy to hear his voice from the early years and the raw energy they produced in the song.

I think I still prefer the original Smith's version, though, because tone-wise its just so rich and warm. Also Morrissey's voice, which I don't always care for, really carries the song well. The bass levels in the Smith's version stood out to me too.

It's interesting to hear and see Yorke sing it, almost as if he feels it. He did say this is a song about when we were younger. I know occasionally I've done some karaoke where I took myself back into that moment, felt it and let it rip. I may be over analyzing though, but it seemed Thom was really into it.

I hear you about the bass, without it being front and center the song is lacking. It's there in the Radiohead version, but not as prominent. Of course it is a studio recording vs. a live one.

I think I am going to try and do some more posts of these comparisons of cover vs. original. After being a DJ for so long and dabbing into production I can appreciate music much more now.

What did you produce and did you dabble in Japan or the States?

I do wonder what the Radiohead version of that song would sound like if it had been polished. I'm sure the bass levels would have been adjusted appropriately.

Drum and Bass, in Japan. Almost made it, but got married and had my daughter so had to put on the suit and tie and go back to the real world again.

The more rewarding path; )

You should chat with @rawselectmusic. He's a big drum and bass fan and DJs in Japan. You guys might have a lot to talk about.

Indeed.

Awesome. Thanks for the heads up. I'll hit him up. It's funny, most of my old DJ friends are still DJing and doing parties like they are frozen in time.

I still play with logic occasionally. Maybe someday when I retire I'll have the time again.

I know quite a few people still doing it too and I have no idea how they handle it. Not all of them have families, but a lot of them do. My wife would probably throw me out if I told her I was going to party all night and sleep all day;)

It's so hard to let go once you've tasted success. Better than any drug and worse than any come down.

My wife and I were involved in the club scene so she still lets me go out occasionally and I let her. I'm lucky to have her.

Thanks for the perfect post! @rt395

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79