BiSteemit Logo Design Concept

in #steemitbc7 years ago (edited)

Since I had so much fun with designing the steemitbc logo:
https://steemit.com/community/@steemitbc/looking-for-a-logo-20sbd

And also because I am involved with #bisteemit and love the work that they are doing for the steemit community ( @paulag, @eastmael and our ever growing group), I decided to try and come up with some concepts for a logo. I will post further concepts and updates here as well, starting with this first design.

Concept 1 - Bar Chart

Anyone who has ever done any data analysis will be very familiar with the humble yet hard working bar chart, and I thought that it would be fitting to incorporate this concept into the design, since the letters 'B' and 'I' seem to fit quite naturally into it:

But it didn't seem that obvious so I make some slight adjustments to the letters by changing the size and using the stacked bar chart concept for the letter 'I':

And some background colour using a similar theme/colour palette to the steemitbc logo, and also some axis lines for good measure:

Lastly a dark version for comparison and reducing the size down to see if it is still clear enough, which involved making the axis lines thicker and more contrasted against the background:

Concept 2 - Making sense of data

I used Microsoft Excel to design this logo, using the RAND() function to generate values and then using conditional formatting to create the colours surrounding the letters 'b' and 'i', while the Segoe UI font rounds out the Microsoft-centric design, since I know a few people who use Power BI for their analysis :)

Concept 3 - Variation on a theme

I put together a couple of different graph types to create the letters this time, borrowing from the commonly looked down members of the chart family (donut and pie charts). Combined with a grid background which brings me back to the good old days when graphing was done on graphing paper :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @plushzilla! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Rock on, #bisteemit is getting new artwork

@paulag It is getting trickier to design logos these days because of the light and dark themes that you have to account for because of night mode on Steemit. I will see what other concepts I can come up with plus any other feedback I get.

@mihail.tsvetkov - now the pressure is on to come up with other design concepts :D

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Nice! I like them all, but I'm particularly fond of number 2, making sense of data.

I liked the first graphic design - Bar Chart.

However, I think the spae between the 'b' and 'i' is too wide.

And how does it look like if you lift the dot above the 'i'? I'm thinking this would be ok because there are 'line with markers' chart or 'x y scatter' chart available in excel.

Thanks for the feedback and suggestion :) I hope this is what you had in mind with the changes, I have put them side-by-side for comparison (original design on the far left):

Thank you. I like the one in the middle. :)

Yeah, I thought maybe I overdid the spacing with the letters and the dot with the other design. The balance looks much better now. Great news with stellabelle's post suggesting some serious delegation for #bisteemit! I am sure there will be much discussion about it on Discord :)

Great news with stellabelle's post suggesting some serious delegation for #bisteemit!

Thank you for pointing that out. It triggered me to go out of my shell. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37