Get Paid To Rant #15 - Those Bloody Carousell Scammers!

in #steemitbc6 years ago (edited)

I have a major complaint about bloody online shopping apps and the scammers such apps like Carousell and Mudah.my tend to breed. I don't know what is their retard? Why can't they get a normal job?
Let me tell you what happened:

I was on Carousell the other day posting up some of my friend's clothes and shoes for sale as pre-loved items. I immediately got a hit from someone who wanted to buy a pair of heels I had posted up for sale. He claimed to be working abroad and would like to make an international bank transfer to my account and have the shoes sent to his girlfriend in Klang.
I said okay, once the money is in I will send the item to the address you specify. I provided him my bank account and waited for half a day. Then came the weirdest email

carousell scammer 1.jpg
carousell scammer 2.jpg
Carousell scammer 3.jpg

As you can see they try and scare people who are probably stupid or just not inclined to getting scammed!

And these A-holes did it to three other postings I made that night! I was furious and angry and asked where was justice in this world?

The best thing was when I forwarded the email to my friend, she started panicking and asking me how she should transfer the money to the bank before they take legal action.

REALLY HOW CAN SOME PEOPLE BE SO DENSE?

After I spent over an hour assuring her that this was the work of scammers and she would no way be penalised for NOT sending the money to these thieves. I sat down and had a think. So this is how they work! These Internet savvy criminals of this generation.
Not only were they very good with the way they worded the email. They also managed to make the reader ( my friend) feel happy ( from the quick sale of her goods) to greedy ( The possibility of a fat amount of money about to appear in her account) and scared (from the legal action the bank would take should she not bank in the refund immediately)

Girls and Boys there is a lesson to be learnt here! In all Things To Do With Online Selling and BUYING , Thou shall remember the following

  1. If its's too good to be true, then it probably isn't true
  2. Beware all emails from banks stating such absurd demands as the one I posted above
  3. Be wary of people online. Do not be quick to trust and for god sakes keep yourself informed about the international banking systems and how they operate currently to avoid getting scammed by such awful people.

To scammers worldwide : YOU SUCK

P.S. I sent copies of the email to Carousell and they were quick to respond and immediately suspended those accounts that tried to be funny. I hope more people will complain about such scammers. They will only open new accounts the very same day. However we have to keep trying to get these people to stop prying on others who are seriously online to sell and buy properly.

Thank you for letting me get that off my chest. I feel a whole lot better right now:)
I hope this post helps some people !

Sort:  

Good job spotting the scam and helping your friend. Entry accepted.

Thank you! And this is only one incident ! I have had to deal with these people many times before! Sickos

i almost got scammed once trying to sell my car on mudah, lucky i do some searching on some local forum

how did you get scammed selling a car? don't you have to meet the buyer for the handoff of the car or even a test drive?

i cant remember the detail but i remember him telling me that he is from the army and he wish to buy the car for his mom in other country and i should ship the car to her etc.. i cant remember his method to send money thou..

seriously!he wants you to ship a car??
I bet he wanted you to pay shipping charges!

i bet he did, someone else already experienced this and was seeking help in the forum, i saw this then immediately ignored any other msg from the scammer.

These people are shameless! by the way nice article on that guy who didn't shower for 60 years! ewww

oo thank you for stopping by, i really have no oidea what i should write about so i just decide on that, lol.

thanks again btw.

well done ! thanks for reporting these scammers.

Thanks! I really do not like them! professional liars - Did you see the letter from "Barclay's Bank" that they wrote? They really put quite a lot of effort in trying to con innocent sellers and buyers online. People like this is why the internet will continue to be viewed as a dangerous place to shop!
If only their harmful intent could be seen and totally transparent like when we write on steemit. Then everybody would know who these perpetrators are! Blockchain rules! Viva la Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62