Be Like Watercolor with Oil Pastel and Turpentine!

My entry for the Be Like Watercolor contest #2

Watercolor - or anything like it - has never been my forté, but I decided to have fun and do this contest, though I went about it probably differently than most! Originality points, perhaps? 😉

I thought "be LIKE watercolor" - okay!

Oil pastels (Pentel brand)

Plus
turpentine (or in this case, Turpenoid)

Plus
Bristol paper (Strathmore)

Equals painting like watercolor, except it's oil. 😊 Normally I paint in acrylics, so either way, it's a change for me!

You scribble yourself a palette on paper (ergo I used the whole piece. My art folder where scrap paper is is currently behind a mattress propped against a wall with a bunch of shit in front of it. 😂), and dip your brush in the turpentine. You rub that wet brush all over the oil pastel on the paper, like those solid watercolor trays we all grew up with, to get pigment on your brush, and paint!


Remember to ventilate when using turpentine!

The theme of the contest was TINY - so I painted my dream tiny house (which someday I will have, and name The Nemeton - the inner sanctum of a sacred Druid grove).

Need more pigment? Scribble more palette!

And done!

I had fun doing this, so thanks to @jungwatercolor for the inspiration!

That Red Fish your momma always warned you about

Get free Manna, crypto UBI: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=6e4b50d35e

Sort:  

That's so cool! I love the faux watercolor, that's brilliant! ❤

Thank you. :)

very nice article and awesome photography dear

You can draw very well. Your photo is commendable. I like to draw very well. But I can not draw like you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57694.11
ETH 2446.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38