SteemitArtChallenge Entry Ned Scott Pen and Ink portrait

in #steemitartchallenge8 years ago (edited)

 Steemit Art Challenge 

Ned Scott Portrait Final Pen and Ink



Sketch


Pen and Ink in progress


Pen and Ink detail of ear


I'm extremely embarrassed to say anything about my art without someone actually showing interest, so if anyone has any questions about the technique or the drawing please ask. I would love to answer any questions!

Please follow me and look at my blog. Hopefully I will have many interesting things in the future to share!


Also take a look at the other entries in the #steemitartchallenge


edit: I would like to thank each and every person that upvoted my post and every other artistic post on Steemit! The idea of a starving artist isn't merely a joke. It is very often a maligned endeavor and fighting for the disposable income of art lovers is a constant struggle. I know I speak for many others when I say thank you for your support and wonderful comments!

Sort:  

never be embarrassed...we are the true intelligent species on the planet earth...it's a beautiful art work.

Thank you so much for the kind words and advice!

I've never been good about displaying things about me. I feel like it's showing off and I am terrible at accepting compliments so it's a lose-lose feeling!! haha I know it's so silly, but I can't help my feelings.

Thank you for your comment!!

Yulia is the name of a famous character from a manga called Hokuto no Ken! Also known as Fist of the North Star in English. Thank you very much @yullia98 glad you like it! Please follow me, I will make more beautiful art in the future!

Great portrait roy.batty! In case you missed my last post, the contest has been extended by 2 days! I will pick the winners 17 august.

Sounds good! I can go make a new entry now haha! It will be good to see more artists get recognized, so I hope a lot of people will get motivated to make an entry.

There are a LOT of really talented artists out there and we need to get them here on Steemit! I wonder what else we can do to promote Steemit to creatives out there. I'm sure a lot of graphic designers would like to show off their work here too. Surely there are entrepreneurs or just users in general on Steemit that need design work done. @cass can't handle it all!

Very nice! (lol, I thought the steemit logo was Wolverine 'hands' until I scrolled all the way - silly me.)

I'm not pleased with my Wolvie claws actually! I didn't have time to do what i wanted to with the logo so yeah... Wolverine claws it is!

And thank you for the kind words!

This is fantastic! How many years have you been inking?

VERY long time!! It was my specialty, but I gave it up long time ago. So dusted off the crusty pens and gave it a go!

Thank you so much for the kind words!! Much appreciated!

Alright,
you know the artist worked precisely if you´re unable to differentiate whether it´s computer animated or hand painted.

Amazing Work - Just Stunning!
I love it when people can totally lose themselves, in there craft.

All the best Roy
(By the way - awesome name :D )

Chris.Roy

Thank you very much!

To be frank the computer algorithms for doing this sort of stippling are too perfect and lose character. I saw a science paper from a Korean group that has done a very good job of creating the so-called Hedcut style made famous by the Wall Street Journal Artists. But they don't quite have the feel of a master like those artists at the WSJ.

I really hate to sound boastful, so please don't take what I say in that way. I haven't used pen and ink in over 10 years and probably closer to 15 so I'm rusty, but I know that the level of skill necessary to make a really good "hedcut" is high. I honestly ran out of time and patience and had to resort to basic stippling after a point. If you look carefully you can notice the right ear and eye are a different technique than the left eye. and many other areas.

(I'm not sure how much you want to talk shop about illustration, but if you do I can talk all day!)

So I'll just stop here!

Oh, the name?

Heh, nothing the God of biomechanics wouldn't let you into heaven for. * wink *

Oh, I probably can´t talk about illustration all day. - Not that I don´t want to. I simply can´t.
I don´t even get the difference between the left and the right eye.

To me, it was just stunning, that I - as a newbie - couldn't tell whether it´s computer animated or human made.

  • the beauty of human precision.

You know, I´m more of the guy that sits in the last line, laughing all the time. Meanwhile, the rest of the room knows, I´m a totally newbie - because if I would understand what the teacher is saying, I would know that this is an inappropriate time to laugh.

Anyhow, Awesome work and I´ll keep a close eye on you!

Chris.Roy

Thanks again! I will follow you as well and hope that you will find some future things I do here worth your consideration!

Very nice and skillfully done! It can be seen that it is hard work

Thank you very much @ratel !

Yeah, it's very hard to maintain focus and patience!

This is fabulous Roy. I love how you've detailed the shadows, it reminds me Roy Lichtenstein's work. Who happens to be one of my favourite artists.

Heh, one of my best friends teases me about Lichtenstein, because we were playing a word game with the subject of artists and for the letter 'L', I came up with Lichtenstein!

Thanks for your kind words and glad you like it!

I like the ink, but I am really drawn to the pencil sketch version that you show in one of the photos. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for that! It's in my blog as my first post. I am partial to it too! I was hoping people would read my little entry into Steemit, so If you are curious the pencil sketch is larger there. If I might ask, what is it about the pencil sketch that you like? Is it the greater sensitivity that pencil allows? Were you put-off by all of the lazy inking I did as my eyes grew weary? haha

great work @roy.batty we started #steemitartchallenge almost at tye same moment, about an hour ago) artists have a space communication ;)

I've seen your post trending and decided to check out #steemitartchallenge and at that moment this post with Ned's portrait was just about $3, so I thought "well, my idea was bad,good that I didn't mention it yet",but than it started trending too )
Of course it is not for now, you could announce it like in one month and then provide sketches for some details from time to time to keep suspense)
I imagine it could have composition like an icon with lots of detail to trick viewers attention

good idea, by the way)

I knew you were going to do something awesome! I could tell from that one you posted in the comments! I really liked your entry! Very strong style!! I gave all my art supplies to my best friend years ago so I don't have my inks to easily do large bold black areas. I'll have to ask for some of it back, your work has inspired me!

always nice when you inspire someone, it gives strength and inspiration for further work. would be great to see your works, when you`ll get your art supplies from your friend, it is very important for artist to have suitable and right tools

So true! I've become used to ball point pen actually! Back when we used to have paper charting I would have to use a pen all day long and my signature I would have to write an ungodly number of times per shift. I became one with the ink pen!

There is a certain fidelity and smoothness with a ball pen that I don't get with other stylus. But you're right. The right tool for the right situation is important!

Looking forward to your next work and I have an idea for some new pieces already!

Today I was thinking about suggesting to you to make Dan Larimers portrait -and look, the ideas are in the air )

I had a feeling you were going to suggest it, so I went ahead and did it! haha almost!

I'll do Dan's at some later point. I was going to actually make a Human/Animal out of Dan. We'll see if that ever comes to light.

Hi Roy, actually I was replying to @nekromarinist, I am following him for some time already) But, of course it would be great to see your version of Dan too)

Nekro has a nice graphical style. I'm curious to see what he does also.

Thanks guys, it will be great but not for this chalange)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66856.70
ETH 3114.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75