Refugees at Idomeni; Steemit Art Challenge Entry by @mariandavp


This painting is how I saw the events at Idomeni a few months ago.
The news all over the world showed images and videos of crowds of men, women and children trying to walk through the river to cross the Greek-FYROM border. It seems that no-name activist groups encouraged the desperate refugees to make the pass, despite the dangers and the European attempts to seal the continent’s southern borders. Hundreds of refugees stood in the water trying to pass babies and toddlers to the other side. In the photos refugees were shown to hold ropes. In my painting, these ropes are transformed into snakes, which represent the European and southern countries of the continent that closed their borders.
Greece, despite the noble motive to help, is drowning due to its own bad political choices, declining economy and non-existing migration strategy. Syria and Greece are depicted as women, facing their own dramatic moments.
Acrylic on canvas (120cm x 100cm)
Work Timeline



Real event photo

Sort:  

I upvote U

I am withdrawing I hope you will get the prize...

I really hope you don't....

as maria said I won't change my mind :/
welcome to steemit @mariandavp.
I presume you are Greek if so
Καλός ήρθες στην παρέα μας.
ελπίζω να δω απο εσένα κι άλλα τέτοια έργα.

I don't even know what I'm doing here...a friend got me in here and now I feel really bad about you wanting to withdraw. It's not fair and I don't even know how I can erase a post! - Καλώς σας βρήκα! Ευχαριστώ πολύ....

leave it as is , please. i am watching it straight for 1 hour, my first job as a pro painter was at age of 15, I have quit painting more times than bad habits.
I am a hobbyist now mostly.
And I will keep it this way. I just remember here today why I quit arts. and you have nothing to do with that.
It had to do with everything else that is wrong on this world.but before you think I am crazy. I guarantee you I am not.

I know him there is not much you can tell to change his mind

Amazing I'm lost for words.

Much appreciated

Nice art .. , a story in the lift of a true story

Many thanks..

It's really nice. You really captured it well. What is the meaning of the dice? That they are taking a gamble and hoping for the best?

Exactly, it was a gamble for them to cross the river but it was also a gamble for Greece to act without lobbying with the other countries first. Sometimes you want to do good, but you end up doing harm...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42