Steemit Art Centre Submission 2

Hi everybody! I’m so blessed that our host and dear friend Dee has given us the opportunity to expose our artwork in this wonderfully unique art gallery, “Steemit Art Centre”. By entering artwork here, It gives me more exposure for my creations to be seen by more people, I appreciate it deeply! I pray that these artists who enter their artwork here will receive more upvotes, followers, friends, growth, and in turn, we will help Dee grow as well! She is helping the art community grow as a whole, I think it’s a genius idea she came up with. I never dreamed that I would meet so many kind people who sincerely care about one another, graciously helping one another prosper to reach ones goals. I heard that the Steemit community was like this, that was part of the reason I finally joined in December of last year. But I have been overwhelmed by the help and responses of its people. A beautiful Steemit family. People helping people, isn’t that the way the world should be? It’s amazing and wonderful to be here. I truly have a blast.

Here is my entry then to the gallery. I’m very blessed it will be on display for a full week. Today’s entry is very dear to my heart.
71BC21FB-0277-418A-970D-5B79DEA39F5D.jpeg
It was drawn a long time ago, almost thirty one years ago, and it’s one that hangs on my wall at home. This piece was drawn because of an article that I read in a magazine about runaway children that live on the streets in many of our cities. I wanted to draw a picture of the pain and suffering that they must be going through, and I feel I’ve captured it in her eyes.
C97C8520-B099-4728-B576-BA75F675D56D.jpeg
I am very fond of drawing and painting portraits of mainly people, but I occasionally paint or draw animals as well. My focus is mainly on the eyes. You can tell a lot about a person through their eyes. The eyes are the windows to one’s soul I believe. That is why I’d much rather talk to a person face to face then do this, which is typing or talking on a phone. But sometimes that’s impossible isn’t it. And I’m very blessed to have the gift and power to do this. l drew this picture with Derwent Professional colored pencils. In my opinion, they are the best, sturdiest, smoothest, brightest colored pencils on the market still today. I’ve been using them for Forty years now. I also always use a knead eraser to lift away color for high lights and mistakes. Derwent colored pencils has a kind of oil base to them were as you can create such realism in your artwork by layering to where it can actually look more like a painting instead of a drawing. It takes patience and time, but it’s well worth the effort. I had this particular painting entered in a Iowa fair art exhibit contest. I won “best of show” and a big purple ribbon. Actually my very first art contest ever. I was able to enter it into the lowa State Fair because of it, but I never got around to it. That’s why this piece is dear to me. Many blessings to you, and I hope you have a wonderful day friends!
5DC34528-3CD3-48D2-B77A-AFA692D0FE53.png

@lildebbiecakes

9F3F4EA0-8353-41A7-AEB7-AADB6CD8EC50.gif

Sort:  

This beautiful piece of artwork is timeless. It captures the vulnerability of the homeless runaways. We are honoured that @lildebbiecakes shares it with us!

Thank you @deemarshall for your kind words, and your great support❣️

Very nice my friend. Question. What is the item on the floor to her right (our left). Is that a hat? Is she panhandling? also what is the red item behind her? Is that a purse? again thanks.

Hi @enjoywithtroy, good you found my Submission! The red bag is a duffle bag with all her belongings. On the other side of her sits a plastic packaging of a double pack of hostess chocolate cupcakes. You use to be able to buy them like that. You can see she’s terrified, all by herself, sitting in an alleyway. A very sad subject and drawing.

I think that the pain and suffering in her eyes are captured very well. It's a nice drawing with amazing colours and so realistic. I wonder => is this girl a figment of imagination or is it a drawing of a real one? To me, it looks like the real one is somewhere in the world. :D

Hi @mystic-creature! I had seen a photograph of a little girl in a article years ago, on runaway children living on the streets in some of our cities in the U.S. It was as very heartbreaking article. The little girls face depicted so much pain, I wanted to capture it and somehow bring awareness to this problem in our society through my artwork. The little girls picture in the article looked much like this little girl. Thank you for your questions and support friend!

Thank you for your answer. Yeah, it is a sad theme, and I think that art is a great way to bring more awareness to the society. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87