2000 Word Blog Writing Contest Entry Travel Theme: "When Traveling is Best"

in #steemitachievers7 years ago (edited)

When Traveling is Best 🤸

FB_IMG_1511836985093.jpg

"Jacinta, don't move! and Kim move a little closer!" Joy said as she took the picture. She showed it to us and we laughed as I turned into a big giant and Kimberly turned into a small little person in my hands.

The world is so beautiful, it must be sought, it must be pursued. Traveling is setting one foot in front of the other, looking for adventure. It brings a pleasing of the senses. It broadens your idea of nature and what power it brings. Mother nature is wonderful and it is meant to stay that way. There's a reason why the eyes are so important, why the eyes are windows to our souls and why it's such a reward to be one with nature.

Eating healthy, eating things that grow from mother nature is great! Another is being in nature. Studies show that people who are exposed to nature, plants and animals have a better recovery from physical nd mental illness and environmental stressors. Maybe it is time to ask yourself, are you feeling a little stressed? anxious and torn out and worried and (add word here) and (add how you're feeling here) and (add everything bad here). Well it's time to consider going to the great outdoors and TRAVEL!

FB_IMG_1511836920288.jpg

Moreover, it opens you to a feeling of relaxation and healing. It lessens your anxiety, the pressure you feel and blood pressure too! One could wonder, "but how? And why?" Humans depend on nature, we are natural beings. Earth is our mother and we are all connected. It is a gift to experience the wonders of nature. Unknowingly we look to a sunrise or sunset, we look at birds flying in the sky at trees and grass waving as the wind tickles them. Unknowingly this beauty they possess already heals us.

FB_IMG_1511837086556.jpg

Imagine being brought somewhere, or going somewhere with a completely different setting. You Just have food and a camera. No buildings, no smoke, away from pollution, no busy schedules, no boss nagging you, stop thinking about salary, wages, budget or atleast stop for a moment and when you step out to travel know you've got to appreciate what is before you. Just inhale the goodness and exhale all the toxic you have been wallowing in ever since. One reason why travelling is best. Just thinking of this hassle freedom state makes me feel peaceful already.

Personally, I love nature. Being in a totally different setting makes me filled with awe and just simple amazed at how healthy it feels to escape. Toxic environment. It also makes me realize how we need to protect and preserve this treasure. Note we must take full responsibility of mother nature and how to take care of her. We reap the fruits of mother nature and bask in her beauty yet she is being destroyed more and more each day.

That is one setback of tourism and travel, sometimes people aren't careful of waste management and I hear news about tons and tons of plastics and garbage collected from islands, tourist attractions etc. Just a faithful reminder for our conscious participation for cleanliness wherever we go. It's not all about us when we travel. Also about mother nature.

PhotoGrid_1511838121688.jpg

Travelling with family and friends. In the past few years I have been fortunate enough to travel with family and relatives. And happily with friends and schoolmates on academic competitions amongst other cities in a regional level of competition representing our university.

In my younger days, we would often go to Manila which is my mothers home place and reunions would be very exciting. Once we went to Baguio, Tagaytay, La Union, pampanga, and ate in different restaurants and bought many souvenirs.

Mostly it would be up mountains or go to the sea.

PhotoGrid_1511842365262.jpg

If there is one place you must go to, it should be to the waterfalls. I know this isn't really a big flowing kind of waterfall but the water is fresh, cold and clear. Sort of greenish but it is very new to the senses compared to the beach scenes which are more common. Although still as beautiful! Definitely waterfalls must be in yoir bucket list! It reminds me of water is soft and flowing but conquers rock. The sound of rustling waters is so calming and soothing. The water isn't so deep which makes it safe for children here. Unforgettable trip! Special places like these make travelling even more special with family. More giggles and more smiles everywhere.

PhotoGrid_1511842431661.jpg

Going to the beach and pool in Samal Island is very fun as well. It's great for many occasions and you'll be surprised to see what's underwater. Did you know starfish can regenerate broken legs? And, that other broken leg (depending on how large it is) may grow into another starfish. So it's awesome right? This is a big red starfish found at Chemas beach resort. It's definitely worth going back to here.

PhotoGrid_1511837965419.jpg

In Mindanao, I have been to other cities for art congress and school competitions. sambolayang art congress was held at General santos city and we witnessed mny performances on culture and art making as a group there. Here in the photo i am with my classmate in fine arts class in 2012 before I took linguistics course in another university. The two paintings in the photo are not ours, the crying girl is drawn by Soon Unlang and the two children playing is painted by Sherwin Mara. This congress is one or the largest meet ups for Mindanao at that time and the following year, there was another art congress in Zamboanga. Unfortunately I could not attend it being that far from home, my parents did not let me.

PhotoGrid_1511837807071.jpg

In one of the painting competitions I had in the regional level representing my Univerisity, there were many other competitions such as dance sport and it was one of my favorite parts of the trip in Bukidnon State University. Their dancing skills were very amazing and I have always been fond of watching these. And it was even more awesome to see them in person dancing and performing these elegant and crazy steps, especially with the tango. The name of this competition is M.A.S.T.S and this stands for Mindanao Association of State Tertiary Schools I think. It was such a privilege to be able to join this contest twice in a row. For my part, the first chance I had was in a painting competition then I joined next time as a representative in a pageant. Aside from the pressure, it is very fun to go about places.

In Mati City, Davao Oriental, there they hold one of the largest whales ever, the bones display of Davor the sperm whale. We watched this big beauty in the museum there called Subangan National Museum, if ever you will stop by the Philippines, in Mindanao, don’t ever miss the National Museum here in Davao oriental, Mati City and they also have white sand beaches.

Even the silence of road trips can be enjoyed. When me and my friends just sit silently and appreciate new sights it’s just calm and nice to meditate you know? Then someone cracks a joke and you all start laughing. These happy memories will always stay with you. So appreciate the peace and love with friends as you go. Cherish them while travelling.

PhotoGrid_1511837617107.jpg

See yourself change through the years when travelling to same places. We often go to eden nature park here in davao city with my father’s friend every Christmas or at least every Christmas if we can. For many visits we always take pictures and it is funny and fun to see how you change. I've tried many hairstyles and usually i just cut my own hair in front of the mirror. I also have a list of hairstyles I have to try as well. Short hair gives me the Bruce Lee vibes going on. Haiya!!!

PhotoGrid_1511842498797.jpg

Travel buddies are next! Whether you are with old friends, classmates and new acquaintances it will be extremely enjoyable to meet new people and of course if your best pals are with you then it will be totally great! I can personally say my two best gals in the world are so fun to be with and our short travel trips to the beach or even at the mall together or at church are so precious. This picture was taken at Costa Marina beach resort at samal island. We filmed a short music video for our mass communication subject and here we explored video media. I helped my bestie Joy with finding scenes to film and she chose the song and we just went with what she asked us to do. Another adventure with friends achieved. Oh, here is the video if you guys want to watch it! Have fun and please don’t mind me at all. Haha! I am just so so blessed to have these amazing girls with me and I am so proud to speak about our times together!

If given a chance I would really love to travel more and not just around my City, not just around the Country but to amazing places like New Zealand! It’s such a magical place to be there especially in the set of the Lord of the rings! New Zealand is known for being such a diverse place for nature and beautiful sights and natural everything! It is also known as Hobbiton! It is just expensive to travel there but if I work hard enough I know I can go there.


source
Another fulfilling place to travel to would be the HOLY LAND where Jesus lived and died. Being a Christian it would be the greatest honor and privilege to go there and witness the culture and appreciate it and just be blessed by the presence of our Lord in that country.
Also, did you know that Gal Gadot, the actress who played Wonderwoman is from Israel? The language also, Hebrew language is very interesting to learn. It is a system where there are mostly consonant letters with a few vowels. It would be a dream come true to visit that place! Shalom!

source
To add to what sounds exciting, I am determined to visit ITALY! Home of the masters of visual art! Da vinci and mona lisa and many cathedrals and churches. There’s such a rich and artistic culture they have in Italy. Plus I love pizza and spaghetti! Did you know the term SPAGHETTI is plural form and the word for the singular form is SPAGHETTO

source
I know a great adventure lies within the great wall of CHINA! Who would not want to visit and try to walk in that grand structure! This is one place I would love to visit. I am very fond of Chinese language and Chinese culture and all kinds of tea. Kung fu is also amazing! I would love to see temples and schools and people doing tai chi and kung fu. I would totally geek out and faint. But no, in all seriousness I love China! Did you know all forms of tea help improve digestion and metabolism? So if you’re trying to lose a little weight drink tea regularly! Plus they fight cancer cells and is a great natural antioxidant. Talking of detox, tea time everyone! Ganbai!

source
All in all travelling is fun and healthy, whether with family or friends or by yourself. The essential key is have fun and appreciate the beauty of nature and the beauty of the people and also, most importantly spread love and care for everything and everyone everywhere you go.

Never forget to goof off though I’m sorry I thought I was a panda and started to go after the bamboo round the sides. Kidding, well don’t ever forget to be a responsible traveller. Meet new people and also make sure you have the funds to buy cool stuff and souvenirs for people back at home. Go get your camera and take fun pictures of you and your family. Memories will always be the best thing that you can treasure!
When travelling is best, it means you are happy and responsible and appreciative of the beauty all around. three, two, one.. say cheese! click that camera and travel! I would love to hear travel stories from dear friends, one day we all get together and share! I hope you liked reading what I had to share! Thank you so much!

End

Thank you so much for reading and have a great day!
Thank you #steemitachievers and Steemit family for this opportunity to share!
Sir @long888, another challenge at writing!
also its funny and true what @birjudanak said, having 2000 pictures but not 2000 words to say!
so much effort to type! but i made it! thanks guys!

p.s i suck at spelling so i might have spelled traveling and travelling. my autocorrect must be busted for suggesting traveling and travelling like theyre both correct. LOL
peace!!!!

Sort:  

thats very good!! is their have ur pic??

that's really beautiful!!! like you baby...

@alchemage has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

wow, looks fantastic! Fun times!

It was all you ;)

🙏✨ thanks haha

maulaw mansad ta ani. hehehe. giunsa nimu paghimu ang video friend? ang galing mo talaga sa lahat ng bagay gwapa pajud. hehee

gipa edit ra namo na sa among school mate te hehe salamat po.

wow thats so fast you made 2k words and i am glad to see you travel from diffrent part as i generally seen your beautiful painting. very well said and describrd your travel and yes its trur that we have 2k photos but not words hehe.

Thanks for viewing :D hahaha yea traveled to good many places too around the country :)
next, hopefully abroad :)

you got all the talent!!! ikaw na jud maglantaw rakjo ninyo ah., huhuhu

HAHA grabe sad. dili uy~ talent in essay ? haha or talent in travel hAHAH peace
God bless us all ya!

tanan! complete package art, singing, travel, essay, modeling unsa pa ba wala nako namention.. hahaha gihurot na nimu my ghad..!!

Glory to God char pero tao gihapon ko uy xD kadaghan ba nakog flaws uy.

Paspas kaau ka makahimu do. :) Gusto pod ko maagto sa NZ ai. Someday :)

huehue salamat :)
sige sabay ta adto NZ one day :) work hard lang!

I was wowed with the video..awesome!!
powerpuff girls.. LOL =)

grr xD hAHAHA
new name for us three power puff xD hahahaha
Thank you?
lol

I agree that travelling is fun and healthy, I also like traveling because it widens my perspective. great post sis!

Thanks for appreciating :D it is awesome :D you learn from the new things you see :D

Very good essay on your desire to travel and the video is really fun!!
I can tell you this. I have been to the Holy Land. Yep, on a 10 day tour.
It was very awesome indeed!! You should go sometime. I will leave you a link to my story of our time in the Garden of Gethsemane. You will really enjoy my story here.

wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
oh my goodness! Id love to see that thank you for giving me the link! thank you thank you! it means a lot to me you know. God bless you!
and thanks glad u enjoy our madness xD

It's my pleasure @jacinta.sevilla!! Now that is a beautiful name!!
Yeah, it's a good story!! I'm very happy to be with this amazing group of writers!!
Thank you my friend!! :-D

Awwwwww thank you! starting to like my name better ey hahaha :D
thank you for saying so! makes me feel encouraged as a writer. although i am sticking with my artist path haha
very nice to meet you and talk with you!
looking forward to your nice posts! all about gratefulness and good optimistic vibes :D
cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60842.02
ETH 2699.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44