How My Family Celebrates Christmas in a Place Without Christmas.

in #steemitachievers6 years ago

20171022_164830-picsay.jpg
Reign, my eldest daughter asked,

"Mama, will Santa Claus visit me again on Christmas?"

"Yes, if he manage to sneak from the police again like last year. If you won't receive your gifts, meaning the police here caught him. "

I was just joking, but she believed me. She knows that they don't celebrate Christmas here in Saudi Arabia. We have explained it to her already. She believes in Santa Claus too. She used to hang a pink sock, with a list of her desired toys, on our door every year. This time I'm sure, there will be two socks hanging already. My three-year old daughter, Hanna, is starting to imitate what her Ate (older sister) is doing. Their Papa wants to keep it that way, so our kids will have something to look forward to every Christmas day. He tried his best to provide what they want as kids. So Papa is Santa Claus. It's our secret. 😍

My kids used to watch kids vlog (a blog in video form) in Youtube. So they are aware, especially Reign, how other countries like America and our homeland Philippines, celebrate Christmas. By the way, they never experienced celebrating Christmas in the Philippines yet.

Parties and foods are everywhere. But I know what my children will like the most, playmates. It's common that during this season, families and friends gather together. Kids are happy because it's vacation and they can play with their friends anytime they like. That's what my kids lack here, friends. Before, Reign has two Filipino friends but they're no longer here now. Her one friend transferred to Jeddah and the other one already settled in the Philippines.

Despite the differences on beliefs and cultures from where we live, on 25th of December, we will celebrate our Christmas with love, joy and abundance. It's all because of our kids. They are our 'spinach' if we are Popeye, our 'magical stone' if we are Darna (Philippines' Wonderwoman). In other words, they are our strength when we feel weak.

20171223_123906.jpg
Christmas is sharing. Just like that. 😍

What is Christmas for me?

Christmas is Jesus' birthday. We celebrate because we thank him for everything he did for us. We want him to be happy. It is the time for sharing, forgiving, loving, helping, or any positive traits that we can offer to everyone, since He has all these traits. So for me, we can celebrate it everyday by simply following Jesus' traits. Of course it's hard! I can't forgive an enemy right away! It takes time. We are only human. We are not perfect. But, while we can't forgive yet, we can give a homeless man some food to eat. "I can't give my food because I need food too." Okay. But instead, you can offer your seat to an old woman standing on a train. Or, we can just be nice.

'Simple positive act makes big impact.'

At Present.......

The Preparation

20171223_091035.jpg
I won't watch you die tommorow. I just can't.😞I'm sorry.

My husband and his friend bought a sheep to slaughter for this occasion. They plan to invite their friends for a simple get together. Here, it's the men who decide with everything. Women just agree with it. Haha! It's just that women here in Saudi Arabia have limited access. Well it's fine, no hassle to me. 😁

Even in budgeting and cooking, men are the in-charge here. My role in the kitchen for tommorow's celebration will be a dishwasher. Haha! Less hassle to me again.😁

Kids' Gift

20171223_094454.jpg
20171222_204231.jpg
The kids already received their gift from Santa Papa.

Their dream car! Oh, and the road test went smooth last night. Three thumbs up from them.👍👍👍

Remembering the Past........

My Christmas Experiences

FB_IMG_1513848628043-picsay.jpg
14th December 2009 (My birthday!), the day hubby went back to Saudi.

The last time I spent Christmas in the Philippines was 8 years ago. But not with my family in Davao City. I once lived in Cainta, Rizal and spent Christmas at work. I was a call center agent during that time and I worked night shift. It was really hard because I don't have a family to celebrate with me. They are very far. My husband too, flew back to Saudi Arabia. However, I received the most special Christmas gift in my life. I was one month pregnant with my eldest child, so I'm not alone. I have a very precious company. Then after three months, I came here to Saudi to be with my husband.

FB_IMG_1513849150619.jpg
FB_IMG_1514029073966.jpg
Meet Reign, our eldest child.

Since then, I have been spending Christmas here. We all know that this is a Muslim country so they don't celebrate this occasion. Christians like us only celebrate it privately, with some few friends. Christmas decorations should only be put inside the house, not outside. Even drinking alcoholic beverages here are strictly not allowed. Any kinds of prohibited drugs are banned. (Of course!) If you're caught using it, then goodbye head! So, it's best to abide their strict rules than sorry. 😁

25th of December 2010, was my very first Christmas here. My husband was at work that time. My daughter, who was 4 months old, and I just slept early. But before that, I called my mom in the Philippines a few hours before Christmas, to greet them. I can still remember it, I felt homesick. I wished I can teleport. However, looking at my little girl made me think 'I shouldn't feel sad'. I'm lucky because my family is complete. We may be away from our love ones, and it may not be the perfect Christmas we had, but I'm thankful because God gave me the gift to become a wife and a mother.

FB_IMG_1514028969361.jpg
FB_IMG_1513848812490-picsay.jpg
FB_IMG_1513848924036-picsay.jpg
It's us. It was always just the three of us.

It took me 2 years before I met new friends here. I don't go out. I normally don't see other people in a month or so. I was used to it. Anyway I had facebook, I just chat with my family and friends in the Philippines. But inspite of it all, we make sure our daughter is happy. She never fail to make us happy too.

FB_IMG_1513723389079.jpg
FB_IMG_1513723380858.jpg
FB_IMG_1513723466922.jpg
At last, I met some friends.

Fast forward. Christmas Day 2013 to 2014, our Christmas became happier. We have friends with us. We share foods and gifts and laughters. We even share each ones life's stories. My daughter was happy too because she has playmates.
FB_IMG_1513891802242.jpg
FB_IMG_1513891880961.jpg
My daughter and her friends. Unfortunately, her friends are no longer here.

FB_IMG_1513892122178.jpg
FB_IMG_1513891918215.jpg
A new blessing is coming.

Christmas Day 2014, I was 36 weeks pregnant. My daughter was really excited to see her sister. She kept on asking me when will she come out on my tummy.

FB_IMG_1513848714065.jpg
Screenshot_2017-12-24-00-22-53-1-picsay.png
There she is! Our Hanna. By the way, the red mark on her forehead is a lipstick. A friend came and put it onto her forehead so she won't get ill when praised. Yes, people here have superstitious beliefs too. When you praise someone, you should say 'Maashallah!'.

FB_IMG_1513849296702.jpg
20171023_081032.jpg
Reign is a happy sister. Wish granted. But now, they are like Tom and Jerry.

FB_IMG_1513723940586.jpg
Screenshot_2017-12-24-00-21-23-picsay.png
And another blessing.

Unexpectedly, I got pregnant again and on Christmas Day 2015, I was on my 6th month. This time, it's a boy! Isn't it amazing? 😁

FB_IMG_1513849636921.jpg
FB_IMG_1513891065896.jpg
There he is! Our Junior! My husband's name is Ramon, and I am Haide. So his name is Ramon Haider! Perfect combination. Haha!

FB_IMG_1513891589022.jpg
FB_IMG_1513891311016.jpg
FB_IMG_1513890974541.jpg
Christmas is a time of joy right? So can I say, it's everyday Christmas in our home?

Though there are times our house would look like a war zone too. It's tough to raise three kids. I won't deny I lose my temper too. My kids know that when I transform into Megatron ('Transformers' movie villain), it is time for them to behave.😆

FB_IMG_1513890883155-1-picsay.jpg
I'm not just their mother, I'm also their horse. 😆😬

There are times, I wanted to really cry because my body is tired. No one is there to help us. When one of us is sick, it's even harder because we still need to do our job as parents. My kids are still very small. Most of the time they need our attention. So, instead of just resting and sleeping when we are ill, we need to get up. If only we are in the Philippines, I'll just call Mom to come over and help us. 😁 But of course I'd rather be the one who is sick, than my children. It's devastating. However, no matter how hard and frustrating life here sometimes, we were able to overcome the trials. God never left us.

Our Christmas in the Future

In 2018, I am quite sure we would already be spending Christmas in the Philippines. You might think that would be great. My answer is Yes and No.

Yes.

I have been waiting for this to happen. I simply just wanna go home. My kids will finally be able to go to a normal school. They will have friends like the normal kids have. They will experience Christmas in the Philippines at last! And for me, I can finally go out comfortably just by wearing pants and a T-shirt. I don't have to wear 'abaya' when I go out. An 'abaya' is a woman's long black dress, that needs to be worn everytime you go out from your premises.

FB_IMG_1514032423036-1.jpg
FB_IMG_1514032301238-1.jpg
Me and my abaya. It's my all-purpose outfit for malling, partying and it is even my swimwear.

Screenshot_2017-12-23-15-58-17-1.png
Source

No.

As you can see in the screenshot above, dependents of an expat in Saudi Arabia already have levy fee. We can't afford it. We are four dependents of my husband here. If we do the Math, it is a lot of money.

The very reason why we are here is only because of my husband. We were able to face boredom, homesickness, stress and other trials successfully because we are together. That's all that matters. We don't want to be apart. But due to their new law, the kids and I need to go home. I find it really unfair. In the first place, we are here because they gave it as priviledge to foreign government employees. They allowed their foreign employees to take their families here as long as they were able reach the grade required. Though I wanna go home, still I would choose to stay here if given the chance. I mean, if they won't charge us just for staying here. I'd rather deal with boredom everyday, than deal with everyday life without our Papa in our side. But who are we to complain? My husband on the other hand is not yet prepared to resign because he still has big plans for our future. If he choose to work in the Philippines, he won't be able to provide for our kids' needs.

We might be home for Christmas in 2018, but the head of the family will be left here all alone. It will break my heart and my kids hearts when it happens.

My Christmas Wishes

FB_IMG_1507725339994.jpg

I wish I could do something that won't make my family apart. I wish someday Steem's price would be like Bitcoin or Bitcoin Cash. Haha! If that happens, I can surely convince my husband to settle in our homeland with us.

And we will live happily ever after.

Love,
Haide

Please consider this as my entry to @long888's
'2K WORDS BLOG WRITING COMPETITION'. Theme: #Christmas

Shout out to Sir @long888 for initiating this very challenging contest. Thank you for believing in me Sir! I really never thought I can make it. To Sir @paradise-found, for always being there to support the #steemitachievers family. To my fellow #steemitachievers and #steemitfamilyph, 'Thank You All!' for the friendship, for sharing your ideas and for the laughters.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO US ALL STEEMIANS! 🎁❤👏

videotogif_2017.12.09_21.11.25.gif
videotogif_2017.12.23_23.43.10.gif

Sort:  

Hey @ediah

You have a Wonderful family with Cutest kids.
Wish you a merry Christmas.
May this festival bring all the necessary happiness you seek for.

|| Stay Connected ||

Thank you @premraval010.. Merry Christmas to you... 😉

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ediah from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Ang cute ng mga baby mo. Merry Christmas.

Thank You. Mana lang sa 'kin.😁 Merry Christmas!

Wow! Ang cute ng mga baby ninyo. Pwera buyag! Hihi.

Natawa ako dun sa I'm not just their mother, I'm also their horse. Hahahahaha.

Haha..kagiwatay jud lagi @tomogiroe! Tuga tuga lagi.. Ngano'ng ni-enter. Merry Christmas!😆

wish you a very happy and healthy merry christmas and you have such a lovely childrens and happy to see your family and very well described.

Merry Christmas Birju! Thanks for all your help.. You're such a nice person.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Such adorable kids, must be hard to celebrate the holiday in a country with different religion and beliefs. And that poor sheep... anyway Merry Christmas to you and your family.

Hi @riovanes. Yes it's really hard living here. But as long as my family is intact, that's fine with me. I pity the sheep too.😞 Merry Christmas! Thanks for dropping by.

No problem I enjoy reading your blog and I'm looking forward for more of them.

This post has received a 0.18 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ediah to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.67
ETH 3798.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49