Calling all Scientists! Ethics of Sampling via Steem?

in #steemit7 years ago

psychology-of-beauty.jpg

Fellow Steemians, I am a psychology undergraduate performing an online study on memory. I need participants who are 65+ and would like to recruit over Steemit if I could.

Here is a picture of me and my colleague presenting our memory research last year. :)
18423862_1770476086299965_7681220947195244411_n.jpg

Steemit is a watering hole for all ages, and as a college student I don't have ready access to adults over 65, so it only makes sense I recruit participants over Steemit ......

Is this an ethical sampling approach?

What about compensation in steem--has that ever been done before?

Do you foresee research on Steemit happening in the future (whether conducting research on or through it)?

Okay that is all! Go Science!
giphy.gif

Sort:  

I would say if you are doing it through steem we should make a precedent.

The only payout to the percipient only comes from the posts made on the subject, and all information gained must be put onto the blockchain so anybody can access it.

That makes it so cost and access are not barriers to science.

Definitely a good point! The equal-access to Steem is one of its many strengths, so science in Steem should uphold that same principle.

Congratulations @zugzwang34! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The only drawback I see lies in the amount of 65+ people on steemit.

Good point. I just wasn't sure, I feel like there might be a few more than we'd think. Or steemit users could contact their older relatives to participate.

I'm 21 and I feel like I'm on the younger side of steemit users, but correct me if im wrong! What would you say the mean age of a steemit user is?

There are some young 65+ people, but they are far from being the majority. I am tagging @giantbear here, who has a list of elders.

Thank you so much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09