How Steemit is turning me into a troll

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hey guys. I'm Berni, since 20 years I am a full time FREE THINKER.
I like the idea of Steemit, and being into self publishing content since 1995 (php-mysql era), I surely had the same idea, but not backed by a free market coin (that's genius). So the issue about coming out with a product like this was that the content is very transient and eventually it will disappear. For the mechanism of getting paid, infact, the focus is on new content and the old one is basically useless.
Going this way, infact, content that is useful forever, think about encyclopedia's definitions or how-tos gets buried by a bunch of useless content, funny or attractive for one day, but then after, be honest.. who will care about these girls traveling when the story is not new anymore? what kind of content they can express that will survive the first 5 minutes, in terms of utility for the mankind?
So we got the system even forgetting your old posts, and you honestly don't care. you just think 'oh, i had zero', i will have to invent something new.
This way intrinsic quality is not incentivized. What is incentivized is the making of new marketable personal stories. No intrisic value in this.
As a provocation, before sweating out some really cool and immortal info, I tried to post some LIFECHANGING lectures in video format (taken by youtube), of UNDOUBTFUL superior intrinsic value, but nobody paid attention.
So. I will transform into a troll. Just commenting these stories, since I don't have boobs.
@ned : The platform as today doesn't deserve content of intrinsic value.
I don't want to put my secret formulas in a square that is sheuvinistic or shows to have silly tastes. it's more like a troll valley. I will camp here for a while.
I hope something will be made to make it better. To have this place to get a reason to exist. Not just tits and tips.
But respect for the intellect.

Cheers

Sort:  

Hey ztl. I get where you're coming from and can see why one might morph into a troll over time. I would like to be a awesome pretty girl who likes to travel and believes that people should just be themselves, and then get paid for that.

However, while some folks do get an easy ride (pretty girls, I'm looking at you), as sappy as it sounds I do have faith that those things of importance, those things of intrinsic value to which you refer, will over time rise to prominence. It is my hope that over time, with the help of platforms such as steemit but also as a result of general everyday living, our culture will become more insightful and value content with greater intrinsic value. I don't know the timescales involved but feel that the right environment and constructive engagement will speed the process along.

I do think you might be onto something when you refer to a need to record the past (least we be doomed to repeat it etc.). A record helps culture develop and supports growth. I would however challenge you on saying that some content is useless. Content relevance is subjective. Perhaps people need there fill of eye-candy as part of the process of finding some deeper meaning.

Having said all that, it is a problem in the mean time if content of interest to me and others is not sufficiently incentivised, if the increasing popularity of Stemmit simply means pop-culture is imported wholesale. Perhaps the incentives need to be distributed within different circles of interest in a planned way? Is that against the central tenants of Steemit?

Respect for the intellect. I hope intellect isn't gravitationally draw to troll valley!

┌(▀Ĺ̯ ▀-͠ )┐

hello

thumbs up for troll valley!

Great intellectual work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71