The Devil wears Prada : My Experience on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Although I'm not glamorous like Andy Sachs in the movie the Devil wears Prada, me and Andy have one thing in common.
We got a job opportunity in a place that we didn't really expect, and at first we didn't take it seriously. For her the fashion industry, and for me it's steemit.

How did I get in steemit then? My boyfriend is doing photography here and I did translations from english to korean for him. He offered to give 50% of the profit. I thought that was a good way to make money, plus I just like helping people I love. Then one thought occurred to me. ' I could offer this service to other people on steemit too!'

At first, I didn't really take it seriously. It was just a new way of earning money, and I expected no one to really reply on that post. Then magically, I got a lot of steemers asking for translation. Two of them were @stellabelle and @hitmeasp, both big steemers.

  Miranda Priestly:  'This... stuff'? Oh. Okay. I see. You think this has nothing to do with you. You go to your closet and you select... I don't know... that lumpy blue sweater, for instance because you're trying to tell the world that you take yourself too seriously to care about what you put on your back. But what you don't know is that that sweater is not just blue, it's not turquoise. It's not lapis. It's actually cerulean. 

The two articles I translated for @stellabelle and @hitmeasp was coincidentally both about how to get big on steemit. The one I translated for @stellabelle was about how steemit was an internet tribe, and that the spammers are the cancer of the tribe. The one I translated for @hitmeasp was about how steemit is better than facebook, and how much potential it had.

During the translation, at first I thought, 'Steemit is just another internet website. Why are they taking it seriously?' Then when I got to the end, I was inspired that they were putting so much effort and virtue in to this website. Especially @stellabelle, because her blogs were used for a good virtue such as reporting pedophile steemers and doing good for the community. I was also inspired that steemit had so much potential.

Also, earning money and getting reactions from people felt good. I made a 20$ deal per article , and many of the steemers offered half the price of the translated article,even though I asked for 35%. They weren't money hungry people. All of them were kind to me, and I thank all of the people who asked for english-korean translations or korean-english translations.

I also wrote an article about my personal experience of dating a racist boyfriend once, and it got a good response. Although I didn't really write it for the money but to hear the opinions of people and as a personal healing process, I felt glad that I could share my opinions with people who are interesting and even had a similar experience.

So, will I strive to be a whale? I'll continue to do translations for people, but striving to be a dolphin or a whale, I am thinking whether I should or should not. It is a good way to express myself and I do like getting reactions from people, but if I have a certain goal, I get too absorbed in it because that's who I am. I will keep asking myself if my heart wants this.

If you are rather new to steemit like me or would like to share an opinion, let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for reading, good luck to y'all :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58784.30
ETH 2574.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46