Should we peg SBD ==> NO

in #steemit7 years ago

Yesterday I read the post from @reggaemuffin. And I feel that if we peg it now we will lose a lot of members and therefor steemit could lose its momentum and die a slowly dead. Therefor I agree with @aggroed.

download.jpg

Why? Because a lot of people that are currently using steemit (steem) are here to earn a dollar or two. Some want to spread their ideas and feelings on this great platform. But why does it keep them here? Why don’t they start a blog on the internet and earn from googles addsense or advertisement?

They stay here because while they are blogging and sharing their views or venting opinions they get payed for it threw there following.

If you would start pegging at this moment they will earn a lot less. And a lot means a lot a lot. They would see a drop-in income with nearly 75%. And of course, you have the people that say “steemit is to blog not to earn”. But then I ask them why they claim their posts STU’s. Me and so I believe many others try to get some extra cash threw steemit.

images.png

I can understand a peg in the future, maybe in 2-3 years when steemit has grown to new heights but at this moment I believe it would kill the community. And many people will cash out and move on. And steemit would drop back to the levels of activity of 2 years ago.
This might be why some people say they want it. If they peg now they will see a lot of people leave and get a bigger slice of the pie. That is the only reason I can find that makes any logic what so ever as to why they are even talking about it.

There is one thing that I do not see anywhere. How would you control the price of SBD? It is being traded on markets everywhere. The only once that would be f*ckd are the people on steemit.

Think what you want to do and listen to the community. As you would kill it if you would do it!

Sort:  

Can you elaborate if with this moment you mean today or in two months? Because coding the stronger enforced peg will take a bit.

Appreciate your input!

The moment of growth. We could go back in downtrend of people leaving instead of people joining. Don't forget that currently most people join because someone said steemit exist. The most people join because of word of mouth. If these people leave by the 100’s that mean a lot of people would not join. Take away someone their earnings and they would not come again.

And if you want to get them back later (it is possible). It will be harder as their faith in the system is lost. It would take a very long time to get them back, if it all.

Therefor either wait with pegging or find a way to stabalize the SBD at about 1.6 times the steem price.

Well, SBD will drop without the two way conversion, it will just be slower. I agree that enabling the conversion at at $7 SBD would be risky, but once it goes down again, we could lock it at $1 and keep it there.

SBD will not drop by itself. To many people have to much invested in it. They are earning to much because of it. So the only reason it will drop is if people force it to drop. Or atleast that is my opinion. I could be wrong i aint a guru in these things.

Mmm, in that sense i could follow. But forcing it down would force people away. And i do not agree that SBD will drop by itself. To many traders are using it everywhere. And alot of people on steem want it to be high.

The higher the price rises the more SBD get printed. It is like a $1 gift card people now pay $7 for. Most of us ask themselves if they know that on the gift card there is only $1. And the blockchain will keep printing SBD as if they were $1. So we need constant buy pressure to support the high.

Unbenannt.PNG

In this badly drawn graph you can see what I mean. Steem had a rise and then pretty linear. SBD has pump, long decline, pump, long decline.

If it drops it drops. If it ever reaches 1$ again (that i doubt) and you peg it then. No one would cry about it. But forcing it down is killing the community. And that i honestly believe in.

Yeah I think we are on the same side there. Let's talk about this in a month :)

Hehe noted :D Come back to me in a month reggae. If it is down to 1$ peg it so it does not go any lower :D

yeah if the price of steem will reach to 10$ then it will surely that sbd will drop

Dont know where you get your info but i dint know if that is true at all

Such a good post. Really informative, and i agree with you

Thank you, i normaly don't make these kinds of posts but when it is this importand for the community i do it.

I think you should post like this more often. Cause its useful

good post my all steemit frineds wish you good luk

Same to you and your friends

I am still very new in steemit.
I started using steemit because there is a steemit community that gets money with steemit and donates a little income to people in the neighborhood.

I also tried to use steemit to support my family and help the community in my neighborhood.

Wow great to see you build a future on the steem blockchain.

Great to see people like yourself building on steemit. And lets hope you can continue douing it!

thanks.
I hope to get support from you ..

Support is earned by good content

What does it mean to peg it?

honestly, I try to identify your language by using the google translation. Although a bit, I can understand the meaning of this article, you argue that most people run into steemit to get extra money because it could have been in bloog or youtube is still lacking. and the same with me, might in bloog there have been several posts that get advertising. However I am in recommendations by the comrades of other steemian to write in steemit, because pendapatanya is easier and faster. But if my personal, I do not mengutaman right at it. but I strive for my works can be read by all audiences.

respect from me to you, and hopefully we are all healthy, I hope we could be brothers.

Hehe sad some words are not transelate well. I do however understand what you are saying. I agree some people just want to spread there content. On the other hand if alot of people leave and you can't share it anymore because everyone left why would you bother.?

so I can also leave it, but I still work wherever the media do play his visitors.

Indeed. If it are adds or steem. As long as there is money people wil post there content

I agree, i just joined and for me it is a way to get some extra cash flow. Not that i am so active but if it would go away ....

Agreed. And that is how many people think. Why stay if there is nearly nothing to gain?

Solid post! Need to keep this discussion on the forefront. When is the correct time to peg?

A good question. I believe either if the price drops to 1$ again in a natural way, not a force down. Or in a year or two when the community is solid enough to keep everyone here regardless of earnings.

Pegging SBD would be disastrous, in my opinion. Not only would the creators take a 75% (or more) decrease in earnings, the number of users would dwindle down to levels not seen since the platform first started.

Steemit is becoming more popular precisely because creators can earn more money here than on any other platform. Take that incentive away and Steemit will become like Myspace. People will remember it and wonder whatever became of it.

The more people creating and sharing on Steemit the better. There will always be those users who are only in it for the money and they will try to game the system. But for the most part, the people here are honestly trying to build something special. And if they can make a living at that is great.

You said it. I need to agree. The justisce people who say they are just here to make great content dont see the overal picture. 75% or more are making alot of money. Take that away and they move elsewhere

indeed, i made a post aswell, hands of of sbd because this week the numbers spreak for itselfes: 38000 people joined in 1 day hoeree!

Wow 38000, that alot. Indeed stay of of sbd

@zoef
as I explained in the previous comment, I am a new user in steemit.

I am ready to continue using steemit to earn an income ...

but the difficulty of getting upvote in every post I have.

if my work is not good or the idea that I post is less interesting for others ??

It will come. Don't worry. Keep creating good quality content. And sometimes use a upvote bot like minnowbooster or minnowsupport. They are there to help out new people.

indeed thats how I worked my way up here, and eventually your earned value keeps rising because steem will keep rising!

Its like that, i believe most of us small people have build our wallet like that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56768.45
ETH 2391.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28