What problems a newbie sees on steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


Image source


The first thing that surprises is friendliness everywhere.


Image source
However there is big doubt that it is sincere. But even if it is not sincere this is still interesting. I mean we all know internet and how toxic it is. So looks like all you need to do is just give money to people and they will stop being toxic.

tl:dr motivation can stop toxicity.

I bet someone can make social experement out of this.


The content.


Image source
Now most content I ve seen is travel\photo\quotes\motivation and I am not a huge fan of that. I guess I need more of an article style approach but current system is more for news since even if you would write a good article it would be forgotten in a week the exception is faq articles but that is it.


Next thing is distribution of wealth.


Image source
Yeah I want money but it is not about that. I want to talk about something different like why people that spent 10 times less energy got 100 times more reward? This is especially true for news, you just repost it and add images that other people made.
But what have you done? Combined someone else's text with someone else's images? Isn't this platform about unique content?

I guess it looks like rant "omg give me money" but it's not that I know my articles aren't that good but come on it is better than copypasta. It just feels like an injustice and when injustice happens people become emotional about it.


Another thing that makes me sad is a bot issue.


Image source
Sure they are supposed to help new users but it will fix only wealth problem, articles will get now more money but same amount of people will watch those articles.

It is called voting but are we that much in a future to allow bots vote on par with humans?
I think that it is a bad approach to this problem. Whole idea of this system is to show how valuable articles are for humans, how can they be valuable for bots?


Local polite corectness is too high.


Image source
People are afraid to take action even when it is the right thing to do. But this is community driven trend.


More of a rant and this happened only once but still. Guy got money for not knowing definition of free software and thinking it is some kind of freemium license.
What is my problem?

It is not about someone being wrong, it is about people voting when they got no idea what the discussion is about.


Lastly some tricks that I have seen on youtube and facebook are present here.


Image source
Every time I see a "FOLLOW ME" in the end of an article or even comment I think well I would have done that already if I wanted.
This is wrong in my opinion so there needs to be discussion about this.


I am not saying it is total disaster, I am just trying to draw attention to the problems so they could be fixed.


Image source
I like this platform, it gave me spark that I had when I just started blogging and I am really trying harder than I used to do it before at my website.


Or maybe I am wrong but if so I hope you can tell me why.

I would be glad if you would comment even if you disagree with me, because the more we argue the more we think about problem and probably the closer we get to solution.

I do not own images but those are labeled for reuse with modification.

Sort:  

Thats a great post. If more people like you will join, STEEM will soar.
Keep the good fresh vision.
I am following you :)

First of all I'd suggest to put an img source link below the picture although you've mentioned " I do not own any images".

It doesn't take long for a newbie to see the beneath the surface as long as they're reading. I think that if you want to grow here you have to start socializing and discover more about people with the same interest while also reading as much as you can.

I honestly found your article through a random search over my mobile. I am glad you raised this issue. However, I did the same thing as you are while I was only less than a week here and it didn't get much exposure until I started socializing.

I am glad that you don't see steemit as a money making platform only. I
also think you've witness people begs for money in their posts and so on. overtime, You'll find a lot of them, you'd just have to accept that they're here and exist.

The only thing I can suggest is that stick to your aim of joining steemit. Discover people with alike minded. Don't get discouraged by making a few cents. And try to be nice :)

I wrote a lot concerning the same issues but in a subliminal way and more of sarcastic tone.

good luck :)

Thank you for your comment, I added image sources.

Yes socializing will help but so far I have been following people that I am interested in and it looks like there are not so many such people, now ofcourse I have seen how people follow literally every profile they see but I am not sure if that is the direction that I want to go.

So far I have been posting articles and commenting on others articles but probably I am doing it wrong.

Yeah I have seen one guy asking for money because he had a debt, and the other guy begging and spamming all around I guess it is fine with first one but the second should be flaged.

It is just I have very little experience in all this social stuff.

I will check your article later and I wish you good luck too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69406.62
ETH 3942.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61