Why I Stopped Self Up-Voting...

in #steemit7 years ago

                                                          Stop Self Up-Voting

           I believe we should stop up-voting ourselves, here's why. One of my main reasons that we should stop self up-voting is because of spam. People spam their own posts with up votes of their own. This can get annoying because people are ruining their voting power. It just doesn't make sense to vote yourself and get 1 cent.... But lose 5% of your voting power. I see some accounts that have around 1,000 posts and they are all self up-voted. They also have like 10% voting power, this kind of annoys me.

            This annoys me 'cause, sure he might have got an extra dollar through out all of those posts, but now if he wants to up vote someone else's post... It wont even make a difference to their payout. Soon, if everyone spams their own posts with up votes, than steemit will serve no purpose. It wont because if a post gets 1000 up votes, but they are all from people who have poorly low voting power, than the post will only have like 0$ - 3$ payout. When this post could have potentially had around 1000$ or more!

            I have more reasons that I can share but I don't want to waste your time. That 1 piece of info was all you needed to know for now, unless the issue gets very big... Please contact me for more information if you want to know more! on this situation and  If you liked this post please up-vote and re-steem it, also follow me for more content... I'm trying to hit 100 followers in 1 month of being on steemit!



Sort:  

How do I turn it off? It's automatic

There if a check box if you click advanced

jrose1010 makes a good point, most new users are either unaware that feature is on by default, or worse it can't be turned off by default. Although I understand you logic, many here are trying with any means necessary to get visibility, one of which is to upvote there own content.

I get what you mean

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51