I joined Steemit because of it's supposed trading volume and it is so fun

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I saw on a video that Steemit has the most liquidity of any crypto currency and I immediately joined. Can someone confirm that fact for me?

Even if that statement is wrong, it seems to me that liquidity is the best thing you can have in any currency including a crypto currency. I am just learning about Steem and the Steemit community. Is there a way to do a search for specific articles and videos that I would normally read or watch on Youtube? Some of my favorite commentators use Steem but I haven't figured out how to find them. This stuff is pretty cool to a newbie like me and I will continue to write and comment.

Overall, I'm not a fan of crypto currencies mostly because I believe there will be an internet blackout at some point and I don't want to be left out in the cold when it happens. The internet will probably come back on pretty quickly but I think it will be a different animal when it returns. Free speech will be squashed in the name of banning hate speech, and at that point a lot of great sites will just disappear, that is when I think the clamp down on cryptos will occur. I feel like the government will put an end to it ,sometime, even though people tell me it can't be done. Maybe I'm paranoid and missing out on a great opportunity. I wouldn't know the first thing about trading cryptos which is probably a great way of making some real money if you know what you're doing. I also like Steem because it seems easier to buy than most cryptos. If these things are going to work, and I hope they do, they need to be easy to buy and use for everyone just like Visa, Master Card, and Paypal.

I really like the price of Steem too. It's at $1.19 today and that is pretty affordable to a person in the lower tax bracket like me. It makes sense that a competitive crypto currency would trade in a range close to the Dollar, the Euro,and other more standard currencies; for now. I am expecting the fiat currencies to completely evaporate and go to zero at some point in the near future. Liquidity also means better price stability. I'm not expecting Steem to skyrocket like a lot of other crypto currencies have. After doing my research, I just believe it will steadily go up in value against fiat currency. Some of these other coins and tokens can have huge swings in value and I don't have the heart for it. People point to the upside, but the downside risk is often ignored and can be downright scary.

$4000 for a Bitcoin just seems so high to me considering gold is only around $1250. Even $1250 gold is pretty expensive to me so I have been buying silver; mostly junk, even if it is one coin at a time on eBay. When there is a blackout it will be nice to have something to barter with. The local coin shop in my town went out of business years ago. I learned a lot from that local dealer! Has anyone else noticed that coin shops have been going out of business quickly? There used to be two coin shops in Reno (about 40 minutes from me), but they both went out of business. One recently opened up, but I was disappointed because they really only sell numismatic collectible graded coins. Maybe all the shops are going away because all retail businesses are pretty much in the dumps. Or maybe eBay has done it.

Silver is pretty volatile, but at least it won't go to zero like I'm sure a lot of these cryptos will. How are we to know which ones will be around in 5 years? Gold and silver will definitely still be around even if they just go up slightly or even lose value. I'm pretty averse to risk and I prefer things you can hold in your hand. I don't even like to keep much money in the bank. I just keep enough in to pay my bills. The only problem with physical gold and silver is that you still can't really use it directly to buy things, although some states have adopted laws that make it legal to do so. They say Bitcoin can be used for commerce and e-commerce but not one of the merchants I regularly use accept it.

Maybe when they do, I'll trade in my silver and buy some.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Keep it up!

Welcome to Steem @zcave I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Interesting
I will follow you to see your future posts!

Congratulations @zcave! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @zcave! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51