Developing iOS and Android Steemit App / Fulltime

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Splashscreen

Hello Steemians, let me introduce my self and my passion …

my name ist Tahsin Yurtseven, I’m a freelance App Developer in Germany and worked till now for several projects. I get in touch with crypto in 2013 with bitcoins. Started to mine some ether later now I see big potential in steemit, because it has a „real value“.

My hobbies are cycling and coding most of the time, I'm married with a beautiful wife ;), I’ll thank her with this post because without her motivation I couldn’t even start.

I quit my day job 12 month ago and wanted to gain more experience in App Development with projects, especially with xamarin.

Starting App Project for Steemit

I’m very happy to be the one of the first app developers for this great community. In freetime also trying to move most of my friends from facebook to steemit :).

So now let us take about this project.

I want to develop a native steemit app and maintain it for a long time, because we are in open source world the project is located under https://github.com/cross-apps/SteemitApp and waiting for even more xamarin developers.

There are some hybrid apps in the stores but I believe in much better quality with a native app.

What is a native and hybrid app?

Hybrid apps are running within a web browser and therefore using html/javascript. The key benefit of those is … one app (code) for all plattforms.

Native apps instead are performing much better and adapting some key UX principles. You must develop for each plattform (iOS/Android) a single app.

What is done so far?

On dtube there is a quick vid of how the app performs now. Here are all features which are implemented:

  • Scrolling through a list of posts
  • Scrolling through a list of tags
  • Viewing a post (without video)
  • UI Design

Next features in 1 Week

  • Displaying comments on posts
  • Login with steemit account

2 Weeks later

  • Search through posts

We’ll check what is possible with current api and update posts on a weekly base.

Feedback is welcome

Please watch our dtube video and send your comments on design and features you want first.

https://dtube.video/#!/v/yurtsevt/48kuk0bb

App Store ready within 4-6 weeks

The first beta version will be released withing 4-6 weeks after implementing most of the features.

Android App will be developed after this much faster, because we have a common code base which can be reused.

More about my projects are on cross-apps.com (sorry page is in german)

Sort:  

Congratulations @yurtsevt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89