Back again like I never left

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Well… It’s been a little while since I last posted on here. To be precise, it’s been 2 months. I could lie and say I’ve been busy, but I won’t try to patronize all of my followers and whomever stumbles upon this little piece I’m writing here.

A lot has changed since I last posted. I’ve decided against writing the book I announced in my first #introduceyourself post on here. This is in part due to laziness that has plagued me my entire life but also because it would simply be impractical. By the time I had finished the research phase, odds are that the premise would no longer be relevant. In an ever evolving political climate, I simply do not have time to do my due diligence in the volume of research a full length book would mandate. I would rather produce nothing than something of mediocre quality.

Another change has come in the nature of my writing. Going forward, I still plan to write a large amount of political commentary, however I intend to be more diligent in sourcing and citing facts. I also wish to employ a stronger comedic edge. In dark times, comedy excels out of necessity. The old adage is true, after all, that laughter is the best medicine.

Finally, though I find it a rather lousy excuse, I have been busy. Formerly, I was a full time student, but one without true dedication to the task. The majority of my pieces I have published through this medium were actually written in the classroom, while I was supposed to be doing other classwork. I had at the time been working only 8 hours a week. Now, however, I have been assigned more hours in my day job and find myself with less opportunity to write, seeing as I am not currently in classes. It is only now that I am forcing myself in gear and to ramp up my productivity and to end my trend of sleeping in excess of 12 hours, a supremely unhealthy habit I have formed.

I have many ideas bouncing around in my head, without the skills or time to produce all of them. Hopefully the majority will come to fruition. I plan to attempt the ones that are practical, and some of the ones that are less so. At this point, listing goals feels more a way to set myself up for failure than a method of encouragement, though I’m sure the attitude will change once I get back into the swing of things.

Effective immediately, my Open Letters series is going to resume. I’ve missed out on many great things to write on, and perhaps there will be a moment in which it will be proper to re-address them. As of now, I just need to focus on what’s next.

All this is just to say, I’m back after a brief hiatus. Likely nobody ever noticed I left, but for my own benefit I felt compelled to issue some form of a statement.

- @youngjae

PS: I have now dedicated my twitter account to my writing, you can follow me at @realjaebarker

Sort:  

Welcome back. Good luck on your endeavors. You can do it! :D

hi @Youngjae I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me .

Welcome to Steemit @youngjae, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80