How to SMARTvote on steem and make $$$

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I've been experimenting with upvoting a lot lately and I've hit about 15 of the top 30 posts with in the first 15-30min of there posting. I am here to share my findings and show you how to get on track to becoming a whale and making big money.

1. Vote early, but not too early

After a few days on steem I discovered that voting early gave you more steem back, this is true but voting to early can be a problem. Voting with in the first minute gives the author 100% of your vote and you give little to nothing in return, while voting at the 30min mark will give you the most return on your vote. Voting too late can be bad too, if a post has already gained a ton of traction at the 30min mark it might be too late. The best advice is this - wait as long as you can in the first 30min before it starts to take off ($20-30, 15-30 votes)

timing is key

2. Vote on posts you enjoy to read

Don't vote on posts that you think will simply make you money

3. Don't vote on EVERYTHING

I see too many people going down the NEW section and upvoting everything they see. That wastes your steem power and you will get nothing in return

4. Vote on posts that are intelligent, but well done at the same time

I see tons of people saying, "all that matters is that you use style and pictures to get your point across" and others that will say "who cares if a post looks good, it needs to be informative and intellectual". The truth is that the majority of the mosts on the front page have both of these things. If you see a post like this in NEW with a couple $'s and 10 or so upvotes, that is 15-30min old JUMP ON IT! (so basically, upvote this post)

Sort:  

Solid. Good stuff. Thanx.

Interesting. thanks for that. new to this and been researching how it all works, this helps alot!

No problem. People helped me when I started, and I am going to return the favor.

Awesome post! Good Job!

I'm gonna share my money with you. Voted at 20 min because I really don't care.

thanks, hopefully I get some votes around the 30min mark

One thing of which as far I see you don't keep notice or know about is your voting power.
https://steemd.com/@xyrzbest
You can see here on left column your voting power which minigates your potential earnings as you gain less of your maximal potential earning if you vote with 40% voting power ( tehat means as far as I understand that you get to vote with 40% of your steempower). Voting power comes back every 36 minutes so you would have to wait few days without voting to get it back to 100 percent. General rule is not to vote on more than 20 post a day to have strong voting power but if your steempower is low it doesn't mean much but you are at the time deminishing 60% of your voting power.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57