You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My first seventeen days on Steemit & D.Tube....Has it really been 'worth' it?

in #steemit6 years ago

A lot of people come here thinking they'll be driving a Ferrari in a week and live in a megamansion on a private island in a month, but it doesn't work that way. I've seen many new users make a few posts and they didn't make any money and they gave up. Even people I know IRL who I got to sign up gave up, including a writer who has worked for many well known publications. It takes time to grow a following. I noticed a lot more people are following you that you're following. It's common courtesy on social media to follow back, unless it's distasteful or spam. Some people may see that as selfishness. A lot of people follower churn, and they won't follow you hoping you'll follow back because of your ratio, and that's usually not really who you want as an audience, but most people are sheep and want to do what they perceive everyone else doing; so the more followers you have, the more you will get. That ratio does make you look good to organic viewers who are truly interested in your blog. You're doing better than most new users I've seen. You caught my attention with more than 1 account, and I think your posts are good quality and you will be very successful here in time. That's why I'm following you and upvoting all your new posts that I see and like.

Best of luck, and I wouldn't give up. A lot of people have gone from rags to riches on here. I'll tell you a little secret. The more steem power you have, the more valuable upvotes you will get.

Sort:  

Wow Thank You! To be clear I did not come into this with the proverbial 'dollar signs' in my eyes. Far from it actually. I was honestly hoping for more engagement and meeting more interesting folks...which I actually have met a few so that is pleasant. I was actually following a lot more people until earlier today when I decided I could no longer stand all the spam in my feed. Unfortunately I still see their posts in my feed even though I no longer follow them. Sigh...such is the nature of an evolving platform that ultimately is still in 'beta'. I hear you though..I hear you very well and appreciate you taking the time to type all that out. I do not plan on giving up at all. Especially since I have about five hundred plus more daily videos that I want to get uploaded onto D.Tube. I cannot fully express what your words mean to me. Once again....Thank You!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65921.21
ETH 2622.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69