Steemit cured my social media funk!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I have to admit, I have a pretty addictive personality. When I get into something, I really get into it.

This past year, it's been cryptocurrency. I've been learning as much as I can every day about the world of cryptocurrency - the technology, future economic and social implications, the daily drama, and especially the politics. It is a fascinating nascent world that will become ubiquitous in a short time.

Speaking of politics, I am a bit of a debater. I love arguing. Sounds weird to people who are not the same personality type, but I find it entertaining to get into a debate with people I know will disagree with me. If you have a similar personality type, you understand. My social media of choice for such political debates had been Facebook for a number of years. I would browse the news and read comments, and then enter the fray when someone says something I just can't resist arguing against. I particularly enjoyed it when the other commenters would get frustrated with my arguments and resort to insulting me, having run out of any intelligent points to counter my statements. At this point, I would consider it a sort of moral victory, and move on to the next debate. It's strangely satisfying.

But not entirely. You see, most social media of this sort can really become a negative experience over time. Constantly reading the most extreme of extreme reactions to the daily goings-on in the world can get a little depressing. It's a distortion of reality - only reading the most vocal extreme views and none of what the average person actually believes. But it was a cycle of reading, reading reactions, reacting, and repeating. There was a sort of addictive element to it - and I've said it before, I do have a bit of an addictive personality. I would simply continue to go on doing this because it was a part of my established routine. I'm sure if someone was scanning my brain during these activities, there would be little shots of dopamine firing off after every "like" or reaction to my comments.

I admit, there is a similar addictive element to Steemit. Difference being, it's such a positive environment. The voting system is built in such a way as to encourage encouragement and positivity. I'm not drawn into angry extremist debates over depressing news items. Instead, I'm drawn to sharing information, reading an interesting bit and encouraging other Steemians, writing a bit and hoping someone can get some enjoyment or utility out of it. It's a learning experience. It's so refreshing.

I'm wondering if others have seen a change in their social media behaviour for the better because of Steemit. Please share your positive stories here!

image source:
static.psychguides.com/wp-content/uploads/05-nZnkJRw.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67