You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Overhaul of Curation Rewards

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

To maximize your activity rewards you must vote, post, or comment at least once every 24 hours. These rewards are distributed proportional to the amount of Steem Power your account has. There is no advantage to being more active other than the joy of reading and rewarding your favorite contributors.

So curation/activity rewards are maximized after a single vote per day?
If I have nothing to add in comment, why would I bother to read or vote for anything else?
Does it matter how popular what I've voted for becomes or is my activity reward the same regardless?
It seems like you're eliminating the incentive to be choosy about what you upvote and you're relying on altruism to sort the best content. Everyone should just vote for their own comments everywhere. If there's no penalty for picking the wrong horse, I'm going to pick myself every time and never vote for anyone else, to maximize my rewards with least effort. I hope I'm misunderstanding something but this seems to remove a vital component and potentially incentivize half-hearted spam comments.

Sort:  

There is still the n^2 rule which means that voting for yourself will cause you to earn below-average returns compared to voting for others. Writing a bot to "mine" for you by posting and voting on yourself is unlikely to be profitable because others will write counter-bots that negate the profits of anyone found attempting to milk the system in such a way.

voting for yourself will cause you to earn below-average returns compared to voting for others

To me the new rewards system isn't clearly described in the post. I don't see where voting is rewarded at all, aside from the active-once-per-day distribution. I guess what is not clear is what elements of the old mechanism are retained or modified.

Would you mind summarizing the new rewards mechanism without reference to the old one?

The problem is : by voting for others you will gain nothing at all, if nobody else votes for your comment. So how could voting for oneself be below-average?
I doubt there will be much 'counter-bots' which just be written to punish others. Haven't seen much incentive on that.

The incentive to vote for others is to reward them for producing content you value. If all you do is vote for yourself then you may get a token amount by milking the system, but you will be burning your reputation and not paying those who produce stuff you like.

Finally we have something that discourages milking behaviour and more on producing good content. +100!

If I have 2 accounts and the one account vote the other?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59585.77
ETH 3002.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78