Suggestion to improve site engagement for Minnows. #spreadthepower initiative.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hello, everyone. This idea I had after reading this post by @stellabelle aimed at brainstorming ideas to helping ease the frustration of the minnow population, and discussions with @on0tole in telegram chat. It is also inspired by payitforward initiative by @williambanks, and maybe any other such ideas.

One of @stellabelle's suggestions was to that minnows can provide useful service and charge people for it in STEEM/SBD. After some discussion in the comments I decided, that my proofreading/translation service should be worth something. After some deliberation I arrived at the following ammount. Half of the payout comes in the form of SBD.
If the post makes over $10, I want to have 5% of that SBD payout on top of the mentioning my help.
And yesterday I actually got my first money for that service. But that got me thinking again. I am interested in Steemit succeeding, as well as increasing the weight of my vote. Another thing is I am helping @on0tole set up his contest, and after discussion half of the prize SBD will be exchanged into STEEM and used to power up the winners, with another half paid out as straight SBD.

Right now, I am targeting to be able to change the payout by $.10 per upvote at 100% voting power. Not much, but still a start, and one that I am quite far away from.

So, I amended my terms, that the person would have to follow those steps:
  1. Go to internal marketplace & exchange their SBD into STEEM.
  2. Press the powerup button in their wallet, then go to Advanced tab, and enter my name as the target of that power up. (Some of you might find this information useful).
    Here is how it works
    The way to power up others!
That solves the following issues:
  1. It educates the population about the use of internal market, as well as adding some more liquidity to it.
  2. It adds some power to people, making them more vested in the success of the platform, and showing everyone that they are supporting it. Thus lowering the doubts in it.
  3. ????
  4. PROFIT!!!

But more seriously, I'd like encourage people to use #spreadthepower tag to announce what services they are offering using the same scheme. That way their voting power grows, and the doubts about the platform decrease.
It is also an interesting option for the contest creators, and I'd like to point out, that the first contest to use the scheme has gone live here courtesy of @on0tole! And is going to pay half of the prizes as SP, as described above.

Any thoughts on this suggestion? I hope to see people adopting this idea, as I consider it to be quite worthwhile.
And if it isn't clear from the post this is offer for my translation/proofreading services.

Sort:  

glad to hear people are thinking about this issue.

something else to think about: the tension between users and bots. i don't like waiting 30 minutes (or whatever) to upvote/comment on a post. i think it was supposed to combat bots but all it's done for me is encumber my stemit experience.

Well, if I get any ideas on the people/bot friction, I'm definitely going to share it! :-)

I'm very glad that you liked my idea, I think it's very important for comminity

I prefer thinking of it as our idea. Still, credit where credit is due. :-)

Excellent Idea to offer services

Also perhaps use the tag #spreadthepower, when posting ideas on how to, well, spread the voting power. Inspired by this post by @dana-edwards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53