Steemit | Decentralized With Big Brother Watching

in #steemit7 years ago

It is said that Steemit is decentralized..

But with Steemit using Google Analytics for tracking impressions, sessions and much more big brother is still around and has access to A LOT of our data.

Should Steemit be using Piwik which is open-source and arguably just as good?

https://piwik.org

Sort:  

You know, I've always wondered about that, using Google as a search function on here. However, I don't think that Google Analytics makes this any more centralized in any sense. Google doesn't have access to the blockchain in any meaningful way outside of the UI.

@anarcho-andrei @cryptos I unfortunately lost access to @wux due to my laptop having a meltdown a few hours ago..

I appreciate you reading/commenting on this post.


I'm actually very surprised.. I had never actually tried the search function on here (I usually resort to dorking Google as I do on reddit) mainly so that I can filter by period. Seems I saved myself time ;) I work with search engines too..

I agree it doesn't make it more centralized in a sense but I believe that to further protect user privacy removing/replacing Google would be a smart move.

You could even argue that Steemit is always vulnerable to being taken over through ICANN (similar to Megaupload) if there was enough reason (not that I can find any) which would bring Steemit to its knees.

Thanks once again!

The search function on-board the Steemit UI is pretty rough, so yeah. You did. lol

I don't see how Steemit could be taken over via ICANN, simply because the UI is just an access interface for the blockchain. The blockchain exists independent of the website (as evidenced by different methods of accessing it, such as steemd.com, eSteem, and busy.org).

I think more so the fear would drive the price plummeting.

I wouldn't think most users are savvy enough to know that they can simply go elsewhere to view the content but maybe I'm underestimating people on here..

But yea... Indeed not my main point.

Interesting thoughts

I 100% agree with you. What is the point of claiming using Open Source if at the end all data are gathered at Google. I mean a huge part of crypto currencies are saying that they are anonymous but that's not true. If GA is installed on the website of the wallet or trade exchange platform, Google know that this user has an account there. And this is only the minimum we think they can grab. They technically can go further with Google Analytics such as any information displayed on the browser, like the amount you hold and the wallet address.

Congratulations @wux! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67138.06
ETH 3678.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73