The Old People Social Media

in #steemit7 years ago

I recently checked in on an old friend's family, and the eldest son is growing up and he's doing Roblox or Minecraft or Twitch or whatever-the-hell. I said, "Hey if he's on here, have him look me up."

"Facebook is for old people."

"Tell him I'm doing crypto, he'll know what it means."

I am a non-coder who gets it as best a non-coder can. Sure, I may always be a front-end user since I have a jobby-job I have to do and not so much time or resources to suddenly, magically be a Linux operator with a top-efficiency mining rig. That's what being a Seeker, a wanderer, a methodical investigator of existence living hand-to-mouth for a decade gets you: an eclectic but narrowly useful skillset.

Plus I'm yes old, from a certain perspective.

truss-188263_1920.jpg

Anyhoo

Being diversified as a person, even without the tools or time-constrained wherewithall to literally become a totally different professional, allows one to ken future contexts.

And this is the future context for the direct valuation of thought in society, this warm Cyberia where the earnestness of craft meets the considerate eye of our peers.

Anyhoo

I really just wanted to say, can we just heretofore refer to that other place as Zuck? It's a time-suck that beta-waved us into a buzzing, false sense of community (except for far-flung friends and family); let's call it what it is.

ZUCK

Vote or don't, follow or don't, resteem or don't. Do what thou wilt. Happy Steeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55