Lessons learnt by a new steemit user 2 weeks into my journey

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So I have been using and posting on steemit for close to two weeks now, hopefully as a useful contributor to this interesting community. This is just a few words on what I have learnt and mistakes I have made so far, hopefully the people newer than myself can gain from this. Also welcome to hear from old hands on what I have got wrong in my understanding etc

  • Try and use an image that grabs attention but also lets people know what they are in for.
  • Same with the title, try not to sound like click bait but also be clear with your message
  • You are allowed 5 tags, use them all.
  • Pick your tags wisely! I learnt this the hard way. My first ever post to really take off used a tag that I should not have, in this case steemdev when my article was on general programming. Net result my story that hit $160 dropped to $115 because of a high powered downvote along with a comment informing me of my mistake. Punishing as my first ever article to earn any real value.
  • It is disheartening to spend real time and mental investment on an article yet because you have low followers and power does not get seen or voted on. Stick with it, if you keep going and invest the time things turn around
  • Do not spam comments or upvotes, when you are new you have very little effect on things. Save your votes and comments for where you can contribute to the post. Less votes means each carries more weight.
  • An article has a 7 day window to earn for you, after that it stays available for votes and comments but that no longer effect payout
  • Do not keep editing a post, try and proof read it first. Each edit has bandwidth costs, use all your allowance and you will have to wait and wait until some regenerates. More Steam power eases this issue
  • Have fun and be nice to people. People will treat you and you do them.

Hope that helps some people on their initial journey from someone not much further along the road :)

Woz

Sort:  

Perfect advice! Thank u! I had no idea we shoudlnt edit too much. Now ill triple check before i post!!

I only found out the hard way. Kept hitting the used all your bandwidth message. I write long posts for my programming articles and used to keep tweaking them when I found errors.

This is a good piece on the subject

It might not effect you too much as you have a good chunk of SP. Think it mostly kicks in a high usage time and I think people with more SP get into the blocks above low SP.

good post for sure great advise! hope your enjoying your time here on steemit so far, I know I am! cheers

Good post for new steemians like me.

Really I would stick with these points so that I can earn more and contribute more to this awesome community.

helpful information
i have a problem , i published my first post yesterday and it's not get noticed can resubmitted everyday https://steemit.com/life/@mostafa1/luck-choose-only-certain-people-is-that-right

That will get you bad feedback for spam and possible downvotes. High enough power downvotes will just bury it again.

So only post an article once, it has 7 days to earn and that is it. If it gets missed it gets missed. If you post in busy tags as peek time you can get missed. Look at how far apart the new posts are in that tag, if every few seconds you can get missed.

If you look at my profile at my first posts they hardly got a look, yet each took hours to write. This is where you have to just plug away and keep going. Only a few of my posts have earned any real value and then boom, a recent one took off.

You need to post content to get a following, that helps visibility as your posts appear on their home screen

I get how you might feel though after all that work. Might be worth breaking future ones into parts like I do, lets you run over a few days and if each part links to the others people more likely to find.

I am here since Feb and that still helped me!, so thanks :)

@woz.software thanks for highlighting some lessons learned as i came across your blog through a resteem

i'm coming up on 10 days on the platform and was looking to author a reflection piece tomorrow on my experience so far. it's great to see a number of new users be able connect with the community and receive support. look forward to more material from you!

Thank you @woz.software this is a very interesting and teaching post. Continue to post for new users it is always useful as well for older one. To get reminding of the rules and do and don't is always good for all. Peace

woz.software - As a new July Steemit blogger myself, I can totally relate :) I love that you touched on each and every item that I have questioned myself. You have learned with in a very short window and that tells me that you are a person who really wants this :) Thank you for educating me on how to be successful on Steemit - I APPRECIATE YOU!!! SUNSHINE247

:) Thanks for the kind words.

Your post is very great for new user, keep it up👍

Resteem💃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58884.60
ETH 2504.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45