What are Curation Rewards and how should I be voting?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

On #steemit you get paid to curate! Yes you. :)

Everyone, including myself, has been talking about posting a lot but I thought I would share some more on the topic of curation, how you can get involved, and earn some #money curating content you love!

Voting on great content is critical to the success of the platform.

This is an important one. You and I and everyone here has a vested interest to keep voting on great content that outsiders will see as valuable. So while you may think it is cool to upvote some shit post to the moon it may not be in your best interest, or the best interest of the community, long term.

While this is a beta we should see some improvements on the algo's controlling some aspects but this is also our responsibility as curators!

Users with vesting STEEM have the ability to vote on posts. Voting Power is rate-limited and decays by up to 5% every time a vote is cast. Voting Power regenerates to 100% over 24 hours. Your ability to impact the payouts a post receives is based upon your current Voting Power times the total vesting STEEM and is known as STEEM Power.

So users should vote on at least 20 posts they see as valuable each day to really be a good curator.


    Only vote on posts that you believe others will also vote for.
    Vote as early as possible after the content is posted.
    Don’t vote on content that is already popular
    Acquire as much vesting STEEM Power as possible

The less STEEM Power you have the more important it is for you to focus your votes on a few good posts rather than spreading your vote thin. In particular, users with small amounts of vesting STEEM should:

    Vote on content others haven’t voted for, to maximize the percentage increase in voting
    Vote on fewer posts, the more you vote the more diluted your STEEM Power.

So before you spend all your daily voting power in #introduceyourself on tits n travel pieces take away is this:

less steam power = vote on 20 important posts, ones that are new and do not have much votes yet.

For more information and to get a deeper understanding of how the algo's work visit :
https://steem.io/getinvolved/paid-to-curate/

Sort:  

Early voting is unprofitable. It will move most of the curation reward to the author. Best time to vote is 30 min after or later. I was also told that 75% goes to the author and 25% to curators. Are you sure about 50% division? I heard it was was 50% author, 25% curation, 25% comments but the comments reward was dropped and moved to the author.

I vote to give out my penny, not for the reward per say.

Helpful post, thanks for spelling it out in plain english. Keep up the good work.

Good point Thank you for sharing.

Great info man and great design ;)

I honestly haven't receive any curation rewards as of yet, not sure why because I've a lot of vote power % and voted a lot of posts early on (from 15 to 30 minutes) that went on to be very popular. I know my SP doesn't help but I should've already made some...

Tnx wery helpful. I was looking this 4 days.

No worries.. I am glad it helped you. :)

Thanks for Steem Strategy! And nice infographic.

Thanks. hey its working for me. I love curating a great post. :)

Thank you for this - its great when someone who has better knowledge of Steemit and takes the time to share - getting more knowledge the more i read.

Thank you. Glad I could share some valuable info.

Good information, I didn't know voting power regenerates every 24 hours.

Yep it does. :) So 20 votes per day for max voting weight. Get at it!

Thanks for the advice! :3

Cool. Glad I could help. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69033.32
ETH 3748.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67