You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Steemit, Inc Doing???

in #steemit6 years ago

What is your understanding of why Dan Larimer has moved on? AFAIK, he is no longer a part of the development team. Is that right?

I'm looking forward to seeing how EOS works out for him.

Sort:  

Hopefully it's not all-out war and EOS builds out a steemit-destroying social media website of its own with a more balanced distribution model. Because that would be bad for steem and steemit.

That could happen, but if Steemit Inc. actually put more into Steemit then Dan wouldn't be able to make a better user experience. Steemit Inc. would have only themselves to blame for anyone building a better social media website.

It's a long story of which I think only Ned and Dan know all the details. Dan has moved on and it doesn't seem like Ned and Dan are getting along well at all now, which is a pity. I remember recently when the BitShares blockchain had some serious issues and Dan came in with a pull request to fix it. If he were still on good terms with the STEEM ecosystem, we might benefit from similar involvement in the future. As things stand now, I see that as very unlikely.

Any thoughts as to why @berniesanders and his bots would flag this comment? I'm somehow on his radar, the majority of my curation and author rewards being flagged into oblivion. I have been a member of the Steemit community for less than 2 weeks. If there is some way to abuse this system, I don't know what it is or how to do it. I see this happening to other minnows as well.

My votes for witness hinge on their capacity to organize against tyrants. There is no good reason I should be flagged like this every single day.

I'm guilty of commenting on the post of one of his political opponents on my 2nd day here and then speaking up once I started receiving this treatment. That's it.

The advice I get is to stay out of @berniesanders radar, but I don't have that option. He continues with indiscriminate flagging. What can I do?

He flagged me for over three months straight, often in the last 12 hours before payout which meant no other upvotes could counter his. Unfortunately, we don't have solutions for "tyrants" like him, short of someone with millions of dollars slowly buying Steem Power and then directly countering his actions. It's something the co-founder of STEEM (Dan Larimer) brought up before leaving. It's something future STEEM competitors may take more seriously based on the frustration many people are seeing here on Steemit.

I'm quite open to any suggestions you have for witnesses about how issues like this can be dealt with. Smart Media Tokens have a concept of an Oracle which is a human being empowered to maintain the preferences of that community and exclude some people from the rewards pool for that token (at least, that's my understanding of it). If we experiment there and find common things which work in all communities, maybe that can be ported back to STEEM.

I'm sorry you're being flagged, and I personally know how frustrating that can be. Stick with it and don't let the bullies win. Post because you want to. Don't let others control your experience here.

Good advice, thank you. I wish I had a larger upvote available to me at the moment. :D

It seems like he's leaving me alone now, we'll see.

As far as suggestions for witnesses, just voicing the complaints of people who are being silenced by him and helping people to understand that there are better ways for them to earn here that supporting someone who engages in mass flagging.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60