Crypto Currencies, Gold, Silver and Russia

in #steemit7 years ago

3e8af321d89dd4983d65efb314e158d5.jpg
As I wait for more information to be gathered before I write my fathers next chapter - which if you haven't already please take the time to read them and comment and up vote them - I want to write about myself and where I've been this past deceased or so and how taking gold silver and now crypto currencies to Russia has been successful for me.

I made many visits to Russia in the 90's and seen the downfall of its society - I also made a few visits during Communist times and really noticed the difference and one good example would be in 86 one could walk around red square with no fear of being mugged at midnight while in 92 one would be taking one's own life into his hands.

I went to Russia in 2004 to live there permanently because for one thing, I seen the incredible advances made by President Putin in turning around his country and I had lost hope in what was happening in Canada and the US. Over the years I lived there I would invest in real-estate, marry a Russian woman and have 2 Russian daughters. In 2014 I took my gold and silver to Russia and sold it there (years before I was an enthusiastic treasure hunter - I still am when I find the time - but I had accumulated a lot of gold and silver) My Russian wife sold our gold at a good price almost $100 over what it was being sold for in the west - it was bought with Roubles and we in turn invested those in property before the 2014 crash and devaluation of the Rouble.

Now it seems that Russia is eyeing crypto currencies - at the St Petersburg Economic Forum Russia announced that it will legalize the use of cryptocurrencies. The government confirmed that a draft bill would create the legal framework for trading in bitcoin, dash, ether, and other digital currencies. Business Insider has written a find piece on why the Russian government has taken a 180 on Crypto Currencies, which before could get a person thrown in jail - http://www.businessinsider.com/why-russia-legalized-cryptocurrencies-2017-5

Russia is also eying a "National Crypto Currency" and NEWSBTC has a good story here about it - http://www.newsbtc.com/2017/06/03/russia-soon-get-national-cryptocurrency/

"Cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology has received significant attention at the ongoing Saint Petersburg International Economic Forum. The Russian Central Bank made an important announcement regarding its plans to introduce a national cryptocurrency during the event.
The introduction of a national cryptocurrency comes at a time when Russia is mulling over the possibility of legalizing Bitcoin and other altcoins in the country. The plans to develop a national cryptocurrency was announced by Russian Central Bank’s Deputy Chairman, Olga Skorobogatova."

The Moscow Times an English newspaper has a good article following the Economic Forum - https://themoscowtimes.com/articles/russia-is-becoming-a-cryptocurrency-haven-58175 stating that "Crypto Currencies were always popular in Russia."

Some more good posts about Russia and Crypto Currencies can be found here - http://www.coindesk.com/bank-russia-time-develop-national-cryptocurrencies/ and here https://cointelegraph.com/news/russian-bitcoin-will-be-countrys-only-freely-tradable-crypto-sberbank-ceo

Needless to say my past travels and putting down roots in Russia may just pay off for me as it seems this is where I will be keeping most of my wealth and business to come in the future - you are all welcome to join me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55