You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Very Serious Question FOR DTube & Steemit - Posting Mainstream Media Content on DTube?

in #steemit7 years ago

@dnews I think Dtube needs to set itself apart from Youtube by not alowing people to upload other peoples content or flaging them because they initially will financially benefit from someone elses work.we do not want Dtube to Shut down because of such behaviour

Sort:  

That was one of my thoughts as well. My other question is. Can it be shut down? I mean...I guess they can shut down the website right? But can the steem blockchain get shut down? Total n00b question maybe for some of you out there. Upvoted you @wlson for your thoughtful comment.

@dnews im not sure if they can shut down the entire blockchain. Atleast There has to be some form of rules by which people should follow . for now we have to flag these type of videos i guess ,thanks for the upvote

That's the real question I guess right now, brotha. Should we flag them? But even if we flag them and they stay on the blockchain, can they shut down the Dtube site?

Here is several things coming to my mind:
First of all I dont think videos are stored in an actual blockchain. The file size would make that very impractical. As far as I know the blockchain only stores some information of who posts what. So the post stays in the blockchain while the video could get deleted. Also sites like d.tube and steepshot are basicly indipendent sites so they can hide stuff when they want to but the post would still be trackable on steemit.
Now, let me just say I am no expert on this topic by any means so I might be completely wrong with my conclusions. If somebody is better informed I would also like to hear it!

Upvoted for your brilliance. Thanks for clarifying! That makes sense :)

@dnews I watched a video just a few days ago explainig that there is a steem Bot that detects copied content and automatically flags them , and their content thereforth ensuring that what ever they post is flagged already .im just not sure of the video link but when i find it wil let you know.iv upvoted followed and just about to Resteem ☺hoping i can be lucky tomorrow

Yeah it's called Cheetah or something. Very smart way to name it! Lol "Cheatah" lol -- Pure Genius

While I agree with you on that fact that I do not support other people posting content that someone else makes, I do not believe the way is through Dtube blocking the users from uploading. It is up to us as users to self regulate the system and down vote/flag those videos, if you are against them. Going to dig deeper into the question form a legal standpoint and try and come up with some better answers to our question here.

@elderfinancial I'd love to see what your research discovers :) please share it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58399.10
ETH 2475.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38